everything you wanted (or didn’t care) to know about how we celebrate Christmas

Anyone who’s been hanging around here long enough knows how much I LOVE Christmas. I love EVERYTHING. The hustle and bustle, the shopping, the lights, the trees, the gifts, THE MEANING, and on and on the list goes. With the whole moving into-a-new-house-a-ganza I haven’t even mentioned Christmas around here. I’m such a scrooge. Here’s my first mention.

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? I do prefer Hot Chocolate, although I’m not opposed to Egg Nog.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? Wrap presents – My parents did Santa with us (and I still believe in Jesus! Imagine!) and they wrapped them. My husband has put a stop to Santa (because he’s evil) but we wrap presents just the same.

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white? I do white, because I think they’re positively lovely. BUT. My Aunt does the coolest thing ever that combines both white and colored lights – she does white lights the whole way down the center of the tree so that it’s like glowing on the inside, and she does colored lights on the outside of the tree. I’m not a fan of colored lights myself, but her tree does look spectacular.

4. Do you hang mistletoe? No. But I do burn a mistletoe-scented candle. Does that count?

5. When do you put your decorations up? In the early-middle-ish of December. Right now, I have candles in my windows and a wreath on my front door. Slowly but surely, I’ll get the rest up and out.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish? Which Holiday? Thanksgiving I like stuffing…Christmas I love my mom’s crab and broccoli soup. It’s to.die.for.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child? Easy. My brother and I would go sit in the living room and just stare at our presents until we were allowed to wake my parents up at 6:30.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I was 8 years old. Kids were talking about it in school and so I asked my dad and he told me that there was no Santa.

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Yes. Every year my parents let us open our Christmas pj’s on Christmas Eve. Luke and I don’t really do it for one another, but when I have kids, I will carry on this tradition.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree? White lights, cranberry and champagne colored balls, and an assortment of other ornaments. I’m thinking of wrapping the tree with a champagne colored ribbon this year, but I’ll have to wait and see.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it? Oh snow. I just love it. And we NEVER get it here. NEVER. (well, ok, not never, but my definition of snow is like 1 foot minimum, but unfortunately, I live in a state that is a huge disappointment in this area.

12. Can you ice skate? yes. I can also fall down while on ice skates. I’m quite talented.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? Blitzen.

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you? Remembering why we celebrate and reminding others as well. And cookies.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert? My mom’s peanut butter cookies. So simple. And yet so unbelievably tasty.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition? Christmas Eve at my mom and dad’s house. I love the family time.

17. What tops your tree? Star.

18. Which do you prefer giving or receiving? Both.

19. Candy Canes: Yuck or Yum? Yummy! There so fresh.

20 Favorite Christmas Show? How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the cartoon), A Christmas Story, Christmas Vacation, Home Alone 1 & 2

21. Saddest Christmas Song? The Christmas Shoes

22. What is your favorite Christmas Song? I love Mannheim Steamroller’s version of Silent Night (Stille Nacht) it’s breathtaking.

2 Responses to “everything you wanted (or didn’t care) to know about how we celebrate Christmas”


  1. 1 melissa December 9, 2009 at 11:46 am

    i can’t believe they didn’t ask what your favorite yankee candle christmas scent is! i love home for the holidays and mistletoe!

  2. 2 lifelemons December 9, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Fun times! I’ll have to do this one too!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


