the first

I’ve had lots of firsts in my life.

My first words: “Ruff Ruff!” Do you know the song “How much is that doggie in the window?” My parents used to sing that to me, and one day, we were all in the car together on our way to somewhere, and they sang it to me, and right on cue I added in the “Ruff Ruff!”. I, of course, don’t remember this, but my parents were so stunned that it has been burned into their memories.

My first serious injury: When I was five years old, and my brother Zach three, myself and some of my friends were standing in my front yard watching as Zachary practiced his golf swing. I thought he was doing it wrong (because I was such a golf expert at the age of 5, dontchaknow) and moved up behind him to tell him so. I told him not to swing, but he did anyway, and hit me on my head about an inch or 2 away from my temple.Β  My mother, who was pregnant with the twins, had to rush me to the emergency room to get stitches. I do remember this event, because frankly, getting smacked in the head with a golf club isn’t something that’s easy to forget.

My first kiss: I was 13 and moving into my rebel stage, and so my boy of choice was 18-year-0ld Larry who was all thugged out in his FUBU t-shirt, Timberlands, and jeans which hung down to his knees. I’m pretty sure that in addition to smoking weed (which I’ve never done), he sold it, as it was his only means of making money (in his mind). The only positive things that I remember about him are that he was always really nice to me (I’m sure this was because he wanted me to do more than just kiss him) and that he was extremely good-looking.

There have been many more firsts, both good and bad, along the way, and today I added a new one to my list:

My first unhappy home-related expense.

My hubby had the day off today and went down into our crawl space to check something out when he notice a leak. No –Β  not a leak, a leak gives the impression of a slow drip. This was more like a stream, coming from our hot water heater. Apparently, the pipe that gives us hot water was “leaking” and causing condensation (because the water was, um, hot), and, horror of all horrors, mold. Praise the Lord that my husband chose that exact moment to go down into the crawl space.

Fortunately, it was a relatively “easy” and “inexpensive” fix at $175, (“Goodbye Pottery Barn curtains!”) but now because of the water and mold down there, we have to buy a de-humidifier; which, if I know my husband (and I do) will be the cheapest one that we can find.

And so it begins.

3 Responses to “the first”


  1. 1 nicknorasmom December 8, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Oh Laura- wish i lived closer to you. I have 3 that I’m not using. Bummer. Tell your folks I said hi! I miss you guys!

    Cousin Kelly

  2. 2 lifelemons December 9, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Well that sucks! I hope you guys are able to get it all cleaned up! I have professional grade mold killer around here somewhere if you need it. Let me know and I’ll drag it out.

  3. 3 melissa December 9, 2009 at 11:47 am

    email nick he got a great deal on ours from some random website!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


