inspiration re-discovered

I’m having a ball with this painting stuff.

There is nothing more gratifying than watching a wall go from white/off-white to something other than white/off-white. You’ve got to understand – Husband and I lived in apartment prior to his deployment. What does that mean? White walls. Everywhere. From there, we moved into my parents’ house. The walls weren’t white, but it wasn’t our space. It wasn’t personal. We had a bedroom (for which we are eternally grateful, the words just don’t do it justice) and that was it.

Now we have a house. With walls that are changing color by the day (or week, but who’s keeping track?) And it is so exciting to see it all (slowly) come together.

That brings me to my wall.

When it comes to wall colors, I play it safe. Conventional. Well, figuratively speaking I suppose. I’ve never had my own house to play with before. But prior to actually closing on and moving into the house, when I thought of the colors that I’d use, I imagined low-key tans, sage greens, blues. Nothing that requires going out on a limb or being daring. And that’s when I caught my first glimpse of the Simone Print from Pottery Barn. They showed it as a Roman Shade, and I fell in love. The green and cream colors in the print match the dishes in my kitchen and since the kitchen connects to our dining area (I call it an “area” because it’s not a formal dining room but it’s not just an “eat-in” kitchen, it’s somewhere in between) I thought the Roman Shades would look nice in a room that separate but apart from the kitchen. And so that was the plan. So I got daring, and because of these shades, decided that I wanted to paint the big wall in my dining room a burnt orange color. Daring.

So I found the shade of orange I wanted, painted the wall, measured the windows for the shades, went online to Pottery Barn when what to my wondering eyes should appear, but the words “Not in Stock” next to my precious Roman Shades. The inspiration behind the orange wall – gone.

Then just yesterday, I finally decided to get the ball rolling and call my local Pottery Barn to see if they had the proper lamp shades for those great lamps I purchased way back when, and they had them in stock at the store, so they put them on hold for me.

I went to pick them up today, and while the lovely sales lady went to get them for me, I made my way back to where all the curtains are displayed. Then I saw it. A full-sized drape in the Simone Print. “They have drapes in this?” I asked. “Yes, but that’s the last of them, because the print was discontinued” she replied. I told her the size I was looking for, and they had just 2 left. “I’ll take them” I said.

And so, just like that my orange wall will not be without a companion; in fact, I’m more excited about the drapes that I was about the Roman Shades.

This is why you should always go into the actual store – you never know what you’ll find!

4 Responses to “inspiration re-discovered”


  1. 1 Christine November 17, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    I remember all that! Wait a minute! I am still in it! Congrats, have fun! Hope to see you soon!

  2. 2 lifelemons November 18, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    I can’t wait to come visit! The curtain fabric is very pretty!

  3. 3 Aunt Mary November 24, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    When you do your taxes, there are two new things for you to get this year. 1. Do form 5405 to get the $8000 tax credit. It’s $8000 off your tax bill, not a loan like last year’s new home buyers got. 2. Your closing papers list the amount of real estate taxes that you paid as part of your closing costs for the fraction of the year that you own the home. That’s the amount you’ll need for Schedule L, line 7. Schedule L is a brand new form. And congratulations.


  1. 1 just when you thought you were rid of me « sunny side of life Trackback on February 9, 2010 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


