it’s really been a month

I promised several readers (who I know personally, and see on a pretty frequent basis – but apparently I’m much more exciting in the blog world than in person) that I would post something today.

I’m posting from my living room couch which has been pushed to the center of the room, along with all of my other living room furniture, so that I can paint. I’m living in chaos, but here I am.

I’ll start from the beginning.

Husband and I closed on our home on Saturday, October 24th. Three days prior to closing, I contracted the flu. (I’m assuming now that it was not of the swine variety because I have since looked at a chart of the symptoms of a regular cold, the flu, and the swine flu, and my symptoms were more in line with the flu) Even still, I had a fever, chills, aches, chest congestion, and a lovely cough. I sat in closing, sweating and only partially aware of my surroundings. Even still, a home we acquired:

house(Please try not to look at the horrible landscaping. It’s on my list of things to fix.)

I spent the week after closing cleaning the house in preparation for moving into it on Saturday, October 31st.

With lots of help from family and friends, we moved in, unpacked the “essentials” (kitchen items, bed and bath linens) and were left to our home, just the 2 of us for the first time in two years. That’s right – my husband and I, who have been married for three years, haven’t lived with each other or alone with each other in 2 years. I bet you have a brand new appreciation for your circumstances now, huh?

Then the painting began.

In the week after we moved (again, with the help of family of friends) almost the entire first floor was painted. It is my goal to finish it up entirely before Christmas. Maybe even Thanksgiving. I just have trim, a 2nd coat on the living room, and the foyer left to paint.

And so, I’m off to paint.

6 Responses to “it’s really been a month”


  1. 1 melissa November 16, 2009 at 11:24 am

    don’t forget to post before and after pics! it’ll be just like hgtv! without the tv!

  2. 2 Kimberly November 16, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    It’s not that you’re much more exciting in the blog world, it’s just that we like catching up with you on days we don’t get to see you in person :)

  3. 3 Lynne November 16, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    No, you’re much more entertaining in person! Congrats on the move — so glad it finally panned out for you. And I don’t think random shrubs can be called “landscaping” — that’s just bizarre!

  4. 4 Chris November 17, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Congratulations to you both…

  5. 5 nicknorasmom November 17, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    The house is so cute!


  1. 1 just when you thought you were rid of me « sunny side of life Trackback on February 9, 2010 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


