tired of the same old, same old

Imagine the scene…

You’re out shopping, you walk into a store, you buy a shirt/pair of pants/some shoes or boots/a purse/jewelry that you think just looks adorable. It’s trendy, but you think to yourself that you don’t have too many trendy items, and so you can add this one teeny tiny little thing to your wardrobe.

You take it home, put it in your closet, and next thing you know, it’s 2 years later and you find it buried in the back with the tags still on it.

No? Just me?

I’ve got to tell you something, if ever there was concrete evidence for excess, I’m living in it.

In an effort to make our lives (and the lives of those helping us) easier when we move into the new house, I’m trying to take care of the tedious stuff up front. Pulling out fall/winter clothes, putting away spring/summer clothes. Packing up bags, purses, shoes that I don’t use frequently. And i’m telling you, that when I unloaded fall stuff, and packed away summer stuff, I was disgusted with myself.

In addition to 2 large trash bags of stuff I’ve given to Goodwill, I had another trash bag worth of stuff that I passed to my sister and mom. Add to that a full closet, and full dresser, and you’ve got mind-blowing excess. But that’s not even the most bothersome part –

Most of the junk I have, I either haven’t worn at all and it still has tags on it, or I’ve only worn it once or twice, certainly not enough to get my money’s worth out of it.

Well, I’ve had enough.

I have decided that from now on, I am going to try to wear at least 2 new(ish) items a week. It doesn’t have to be on the same day (although what a bonus that would be!) but I’m tired of the money that I waste on this stuff, money that, if I’m being honest with myself, really isn’t even mine. For crying out loud, I don’t think my husband was deployed for a year so that I could buy 3 (yes! three!) pairs of boots and only wear them each once. (yes! once!) I shudder to think of the extra money that we could have had in our savings account if I didn’t go through my “you’re gone, and I miss you, so I think I’ll spend un-nameable amount dollars on a bunch of stuff to fill the void” phase.

Why should you care?

Because from now on, there will be a weekly “Wearing it Well” post of my 2 new(ish) items of the week. Until I get through them all. Hopefully, you’ll get some fun outfit ideas from them, and you can copy them for yourself!

And if nothing else, at least it’ll stop me from constantly posting my house-woes. It’s really win-win.

2 Responses to “tired of the same old, same old”


  1. 1 melissa October 7, 2009 at 7:36 am

    i’ve recently learned to sell on ebay – bring your old purses on saturday and we can sell them. old veras and stuff will make a small fortune!

  2. 2 เสื้อผ้าผู้ชายอ้วน October 15, 2017 at 2:47 pm

    Wonderful goods from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff previous to and you are just
    extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve received here,
    really like what you’re stating and the best way in which you are saying it.
    You are making it entertaining and you still care for to stay it
    smart. I cant wait to learn much more from you. That
    is actually a tremendous website.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


