180 degrees

I’m still amazed every now and then by how quickly things can change on a dime.

How, one teeny tiny little detail can make all the difference in the world. How life is just surprising. Really, how God surprises me.

I’ll admit, I was all “whoa is me” in this post.

But I think that if y’all were living in my shoes, you just might understand. I mean, let’s look at the facts:

-My husband and I got married in September of 2006.
-In February of 2007, we found out that he was going to be sent on a year-long deployment sometime at the end of that year.
-In October of 2007, we moved in with my parents because I didn’t want to live alone during Luke’s deployment.
-In November of 2007, he was deployed.
-In November of 2008, he came home.
-In May of 2009 he was finally hired by a State Police Agency (of course, not in the state in which we currently reside) and so began the Great Home Search of 2009.

But all of this time, from October 2007 which was a month before he deployed, to the present day, we’ve been living with my parents.

We packed up our lives, put it in storage, and it’s been so long, that it seems like that life before the deployment is just a dream.

We love my family dearly, but we’re tired of having no closet space, no room to walk, very little privacy, and no place that’s just ours.

(I’m not so far removed from the “whoa is me” post yet, am I?)

You can imagine then, that when we started the Great Home Search of 2009, we felt that we deserved to be cut a little slack. Look for our dream home, find it, and buy it, and all within a month or two.

Heh.

Things were looking down. We weren’t finding anything. In typical “us” fashion, my husband and I had different “unacceptables” on our lists and so that narrowed the search field greatly for us. I was losing hope, and feeling depressed.

And then, the day after I went all “whoa is me” on you, my lovely readers, my husband and I were chatting on the phone, when he asked me, “Have you looked in Area X?”

“No.” I said “Isn’t that a little further south than we wanted to be?”

“Eh, just give it a shot, I’m sure we can work something out.”

So I looked in Area X, and I found it.

I immediately sent the house to my realtor, and we scheduled a showing for the next day.

Upon walking in the door for the first time, I literally said: “Ok, so what’s the catch?” I was convinced that there had to be something wrong. Poor construction, termite damage, water problems. You name it, I thought of it. And then my realtor said: “Nothing”

Internets, I can’t possibly explain to you the utter excitement I felt at that very moment. The only thing from my “wish list” that is missing in this house is a fire place. And I didn’t even realize that until the second walk-through, because I was just so pleased with everything else that I saw.

In true ‘everything is just falling into place’ fashion, my husband also loved it, and we put an offer on it the same day that he saw it.

We don’t know yet whether we’re going to get this house or not. It’s a short-sale, and so, that drags the process out a little bit.

Regardless of the outcome, this one positive experience has given me a refreshed perspective. I have hope that there is something out there for us that we’ll love, and whenever it’s supposed to work out, it will.

(but I really do hope that this is it!)

4 Responses to “180 degrees”


  1. 1 lifelemons September 7, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    I am so excited and can’t wait to see it! I think this is going to be the one! If any of my mother-in-law’s gypsy ways have worn off on me then my dreams I’ve had of you for the past two days is a tell for what your future holds!

  2. 2 DDTM September 8, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Nice post.
    Also, it’s “Woe”.
    Just sayin’.

  3. 3 Chris September 9, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Best of luck on the offer!

  4. 4 Em September 9, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Awesome… Why didn’t this come up in our two minute conversation today??? JK…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


