robbing the man blind

I’ve never been a bargain shopper.

I don’t wait for sales to purchase something I love, and I don’t frequent stores like the Rugged Warehouse, or T.J. Maxx, so when I actually do end up with something that was on sale, it’s usually by accident, or because someone else (who is a bargain shopper) told me about the sale.

I could come up with some great excuses for you.

My height: (5’10”) I can’t just run into my local department store and buy clothes. I need long (and sometimes, extra-long) pants, and there aren’t many department stores that carry that stuff. So, when I know that someone out there is housing a pair of pants that fit my waist and my inseam, I snag them without being too picky about the cost.

Trends Change lightning fast: I’m not terribly trendy, but I’m not a fan of living in a decade that’s gone by either. I’m somewhere in the traditional-meets-modern, gray area of the design/fashion world. And because of this, I feel as though what I purchase should fit that model. I believe that every person should have a few classic pieces of furniture/clothing/shoes/accessories. But I also think that every person should add in a couple of trendy pieces as well. And sometimes, that means buying right now, at full-price.

But really, the heart of the issue is this:

I’m lazy.

I don’t have the time or the desire to scour racks of clothing at the previously mentioned stores, and I don’t enjoy driving an hour and a half out of my way to visit the outlets. (that’s how far away my closest outlets are)

And really, that’s just what it comes down to.

Every now and then though, I will mix it up, and drive that distance or go to those stores.

Like, last week, I made a random stop into my local T.J. Maxx and found sheets (for our King-size bed) for $40. A rare find, in my opinion.

A couple of weeks ago, I stopped into Old Navy and saw this jacket. I didn’t buy it, because yo, $40 is a little steep to me for a jacket. (a jacket, that’s cropped, not like a real, live jacket that keeps you warm or something) (also, if I was single, and not trying to buy a house, I probably would have spent $40 on that jacket) But over the weekend, it went on sale at my local Old Navy, and I picket it up for $25!

The greatest deal of all though, my friends was a deal that I got on Friday. I went with my little sister up to the outlets in Lancaster, PA, where there is a Pottery Barn outlet.

I love Pottery Barn.

I’m not so sure that I’m conveying that message to you properly in those four words. I really love Pottery Barn. If I could just rent a store from them and live there, I totally would. It’s just a grand place.

Anyway, so Luke and I registered for some lamps from Bed Bath and Beyond for our wedding, (3 years ago) and we got them. And they were terrible lamps. Do me a favor, would you? Please don’t buy such an important household item from a store like that. Please. Pretty please.

A lamp makes it possible for you to read while your spouse is sleeping, without creating too much of a disturbance. A lamp gives you light in a room without making you feel as though you’re in a TV studio. A lamp tricks people into thinking that you’re home when you might not be, and that could prevent someone from, like, breaking into your house, or something.

So, lamps are pretty important, and you shouldn’t skimp on them, ok? Spend a little bit of dough and get good quality lamps.

This was my plan, too. I’ve had my eye on this lamp since they were introduced recently by Pottery Barn, and put them on my wishlist. Go check them out. Ok, I’ll show you the picture here too.

lamp

Yum.

But man. $110? For one lamp? And it doesn’t even include the shade? Rip off.

But then, I saw it. This weekend, at the PB Outlet. And I bought 2 of them. For $100. Both of them, for $100 total. That’s a savings of greater than 50% my friends.

I know what you’re saying to yourselves right now; “She bought them at an outlet. Surely there’s something wrong with them.” “Yeah, like maybe they came without electrical plugs or are missing a base or something.” Well, you’re all wrong. They work, and they look exactly like they should.

Be jealous. Be very jealous.

9 Responses to “robbing the man blind”


  1. 1 melissa August 17, 2009 at 6:34 am

    i am seriously going to old navy today and buying that jacket.
    LOVE IT!

  2. 2 melissa August 17, 2009 at 6:34 am

    p.s.
    well done, bargain shopper! we’ll win yu over to our side yet ;-)

  3. 3 Laura's Biggest Fan August 17, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Wow I def almost bought that jacket the other day…

  4. 4 DDTM August 17, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Was there a Pistol Barn nearby? Maybe Luke could go with you next time.

  5. 5 Christine August 17, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Bargin shopping is ALWAYS the way to go! There is nothing wrong with outlet shopping! Speaking of bargin shopping I just got a set of king size sheets from target for 14.99, and I LOVE THEM!!!

  6. 6 lifelemons August 17, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I seriously just laughed for like ten minutes about “Pistol Barn,” that is classic right there!

  7. 7 DDTM August 18, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Your laughter is the primary reason I comment on this blog. :)


  1. 1 inspiration re-discovered « sunny side of life Trackback on November 17, 2009 at 10:23 pm
  2. 2 just when you thought you were rid of me « sunny side of life Trackback on February 9, 2010 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


