in which my husband is brought down to my level

Those of you who know me in real life, or those who have been hanging around here for a while (oh, who am I kidding, even if you just started reading you’ve probably figured it out) know that my husband is the frugal one, and I’m the spender.

It has proven to be a challenge for me time and time again.

He doesn’t even buy things for himself, so it’s not like he’s just frugal when it comes to my spending. He just doesn’t spend at all. He’s even frugal when it comes to necessities. Like food.

You can imagine my surprise then, when my husband called me last Thursday and said:

“I’m in love.”

“Ex-cuse me?!”

“With a gun.”

Like, a real gun, internets. Apparently, some gun salesmen (is that what they’re called?) came out to their Police Academy last week to show them the latest and greatest from their newest line of deadly weapons.

And my husband found one that he wants for our home. (Their police guns are, obviously, supplied by the State)

(Also, please don’t send me ridiculous comments about how guns are evil and horrible and whatnot. I don’t agree with you, and it’s really not up for discussion because you’re not the one who has a husband who will be making real live enemies on the job. So be quiet. Just this once.)

The price tag on one of these things?

$600

I know, right?

I should at least be allowed to buy a purse or some great shoes, or something after that. No?

Oh well.

6 Responses to “in which my husband is brought down to my level”


  1. 1 melissa August 10, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    he is KIDDING me.
    $600??? buy a can of mace and some awesome shoes.

  2. 2 lifelemons August 11, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Holy shit! That is a lot of money!

    Tom and I want a gun and we were going to learn to shoot together…sounds romantic, ha! But I will not be spending $600 on a gun to possibly sit locked away in a gun safe forever and ever amen.

    I think just this one time he has lost his marbles!

  3. 3 Em August 11, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    I say go for it… This is a man who doesn’t spend… let him see how it feels… I’m sure it’ll be taken to the range and shot off ever now and then…

  4. 5 DDTM August 13, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    LLA

    Does it make it better if the he gets the gun and the matching shoes?

    PS – $600 for a new pistol isn’t too much, given that some can be upwards of $1000. Think of it this way – do you want some crappy hunk of junk in your hand when Mr. Crazy follows the boy home or a quality tool?

    PPS – Lemons – if you just want to learn to shoot and go occaisionally you can rent guns (particularly at Targetmaster on 202 in PA) at some ranges. It isn’t the cheapest, but if you’re not going to shoot often and don’t necessarily want one in your house for protection it might be more economical.

    PPS – I want one too. But I want a Beretta 96SS. Just sayin’.

  5. 6 lifelemons August 13, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Thanks DDTM, I’ll keep that in mind.

    Tom had me laughing, he reads your blog when he reads mine and said that he had planned on getting a gun for $600 too. He claims I knew this. Perhaps the men should all go together on a gun shopping trip, lol!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


