there’s a blueberry in my pancake!

Every now and then, when the day is busy ’round these parts, my momma makes breakfast for dinner.

We don’t mind so much, because it’s yummy.

My mom always has 2 different pancake batters going – plain and blueberry.

So, it was my turn for pancakes.

“Hey Laura, what kind of pancakes do you want?”

(I know what you’re saying to yourself right now. You’re saying, “She’s a twenty-four-year-old married woman who lives with her parents, and now, her mom is making her pancakes to order. Pathetic.” Well, to you I say, “You’re just jealous that my mom is awesome, and yours isn’t.”)

“Plain.” I said

“Plain?! Really?!”

“Well, I’ll have one blueberry.”

I came out later to see 4 pancakes on the griddle – 2 of them were blueberry, 1 was plain, and the last one had one single blueberry, smack dab in the center of it.

“Mom, what’s with the one blueberry?” I asked

“That’s yours.” She said “You asked for one blueberry, didn’t you?”

“Mom, I meant one blueberry pancake, not one blueberry.”

Lots of laughter followed.

She didn’t want me to blog about it, but I did. Because it was just that funny.

3 Responses to “there’s a blueberry in my pancake!”


  1. 1 lifelemons August 4, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    LOL! Too funny! Don’t feel bad, I am 24 and my Mom makes me breakfast to order every Saturday and Sunday!

  2. 2 Ellen August 5, 2009 at 6:02 am

    You did say “one blueberry” – leave us mom’s alone, we’re doing the best we can!

  3. 3 Em August 7, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Remember your family is very literal… They only do as ask… heheh


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


