my mind is blank and full, all at the same time

This has been quite a week.

We arrived back to our little home state on Sunday, after a llllllllllloooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggg drive (16 hours) in which I came to appreciate the fact that Delaware does construction on the same busy roads, every spring/summer, during rush hour on Friday when people are on their way to the beach.

I’m not kidding.

As I type this, there are 2 well traveled roads in my state, one that runs east to west, and the other that runs north to south, being worked on. (that I know of)

Go ahead and ask me if there was anything wrong with these roads.

There wasn’t.

Not a pot hole, or even a little tiny crack. But gosh darnit, someone didn’t like the look of them, and so, their being re-done.

But I’m not complaining, you see, because our entire trip through Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, and the little bit of Illinois we experienced was filled with bounciness. Because the roads in those states are horrible. Just wretched.

And we’re talking major roads here, not back roads or anything. I really think the lovely folks in those states are getting royally screwed. Seriously guys, you don’t have tax-free shopping, beaches (on an ocean), or nice roads. Why are you still there?

So thank you Delaware politicians for annoying us every year with your road construction policies. I may not like them on a Friday evening when I can’t get out of my neigborhood because you’ve blocked off a lane that you’re re-paving, and then there’s another lane blocked off because some schmuck was texting instead of driving – and caused a car accident during rush hour – in traffic heading down to the beach, most of which is coming from other states because our beaches are just so great that even states that have their own beaches, like New Jersey and New York like to visit us, but I sure do appreciate that on that drive that takes me an hour instead of the 20-30 minutes it should take, I don’t have to deal with any pot holes. You’re all a bunch of gems.

Now, on to family vacation with the in-laws.

2 Responses to “my mind is blank and full, all at the same time”


  1. 1 R. June 19, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I feel like I need to disagree on one small point. I have now driven back and forth between Columbus Ohio and Newark Delaware 6 or 7 times in the last several days. And I must say that the roads I travel in Ohio are all very good. Even the ones around the town of Columbus. I was actually quite shocked when I moved here.

  2. 2 lifelemons June 19, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    You’re a trip! When we travel to Missouri the roads are always very nice. If we go the northern route we drive through: Pennsylvania-A Smidge of West Virgina-Ohio-Indiana-Illinois-Then Missouri. If we travel the southern route we drive through: Maryland-West Virgina-Kentucky-Tennessee-Then Missouri. Never had a problem, if memory serves me though one of the states in the Northern Route does not have a very smooth surface, it was just the way the road was made.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


