throwback thursday – amateur writer

My mom rocks.

There are a million and one different reasons why, but I’m going to just tell you one for now:

She saved all kinds of papers and report cards and other paraphenalia from our school days. Literally, from preschool through high school.

So, since we’re coming up on the seventh anniversary of my high school graduation, my mom decided that now was the perfect time to give it all to me.

Internets, I was quite the little writer. In this folder of fun school times I found such gems as:

this just supthing i want to giv you.
if the baby’s dont come at christmas i dont want to open my presis.

November 12, 1990 – 5 years old

My mom was pregnant with the twins, and apparently, I refused to open my Christmas presents if they hadn’t arrived by then. Which they didn’t, but I don’t think I stuck to my threat.

I want to be a teacher when I grow up. I want to teach kids. Some kids have to lern write from wrong. I like being a teacher they teach.

March 16,1992 – 7 years old

Before I discovered my disdain for people who learn more slowly than I.

My favrite Bible story is about Paul. Paul is a Good man. I like Paul. He prieches.

April 20, 1991 – 6 years old

I think this one is pretty self-explanatory, no?

In all seriousness, I’m glad my mom kept this. Not for the excitement of reliving childhood (although, lets be honest, don’t you wish that your mom would hand you a big folder of all of your most precious school moments?) but because it’s just another reminder to me of how thoughtful my mom is. My mom does not enjoy clutter – she is not a pack-rat, and yet, she set aside her desires for extra space (which was a hard thing to come by in my childhood home) so that we would have something to look back to – something they thought precious enough to keep.

It’s these little things that make me feel special. It’s something I hope to do for my children someday. Not because it’ll be fun for them when they’re 24 to look back at how they used to be completely horrible spellers, or totally inept when it came to sentence structure, but because it’ll remind them of how deeply I love them, and how much I cherish every little moment as their mother no matter how big or small.

1 Response to “throwback thursday – amateur writer”


  1. 1 nicknorasmom May 28, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Your mom rocks!!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


