a beautiful journey

The Associate Pastor of my church and his wife, recently adopted a little girl from India. He and his wife played a major roll in my life as a teenager, and now as an adult, they have impacted me even greater.

Husband and I have always discussed adopting, but it seemed a distant dream. So out of reach, so intangible. There is the occasional family in our church who adopts, but nothing has been so close to home as this particular journey.

Since I work for my church, and my desk is right outside his office, I’ve actually been blessed to “listen in” on their journey from the very beginning.

From the very first time they received a picture of little Siddhi, to the moment just 2 weeks ago when they received the news that they could finally go get their daughter. It has been an incredible journey to witness and to pray through.

God was in every detail, but the most incredible thing for me to witness was this couple’s willingness to just let God lead. They knew that this wasn’t anything they were in control of, and so they didn’t try to control anything. What an incredible lesson to learn by watching the actions of these people, who opened themselves up for everyone to see.

This is their story.

2 Responses to “a beautiful journey”


  1. 1 Laura's Biggest Fan May 18, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Awwwww Laura I love this soooo much! It is just so precious!

  2. 2 nicknorasmom May 18, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    This took my breath away…..He’s an awsome God….


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


