irony and bloody noses

Remember the dress I wanted for Easter?

Well, the husband finally caved. Not before I scoured the internet for 2-ish weeks and the price dropped $32. But, he caved, and I really can’t ask for more.

So last night I set out to buy this dress. I didn’t just want to purchase it online without trying it on first to see how it fit. We know what happens when I do that.

I went into my local Banana Republic all geared up to try this dress on when……

I searched the store for a few minutes and couldn’t find it. Not one to be afraid of pestering the employees, I went up to the nearest girl and asked her where the pretty blue silk dress was.

“Hmmmm, can you describe it a little more?” she asked.

“Um, yeah. It’s pretty and blue…and silk. And it ties at the waist.”

“I don’t recall ever getting that in. Yeah, in fact I’m sure that we didn’t” she replied.

I was left to search the store if I chose to, but that’s the best she could give me. I was really bummed to say the least, but I decided that I didn’t really have many options left, and looked around the store for something else.

I found this sweater (in powder blue, which I guess they’re not showing) and this skirt. Score!

I made my way back to the dressing room (with my sister, who I usually bring with me, because she’s an honest critiquer) to try them on. I was just about to put the skirt on when my nose started bleeding! I immediately threw the skirt as far from myself as I could and sent my little sister off to find me some tissues, or something, anything. At that moment, my nose decided that a water-fall of blood seemed like a better idea than a leaky faucet. I was left with no choice but to use my own tank top as a stopper. Fortunately I was wearing a black (I have never before been so glad that my color-choices in clothing are drab and predictable) turtle neck over the tank top, so I made it through the rest of the evening without anyone else seeing the blood.

I should have taken that as a sign to leave the store or something, but I didn’t and tried the sweater and skirt on. I fell in love with it and then looked at the price tags. SO EXPENSIVE. And back on their respective racks they went. (Authors note: this is how you can be certain that my husband has infected my brain.)

We left and went to every store in the mall and could find nothing, NOTHING, that I liked.

Plan B: get the pretty sweater and wear it with a skirt you already own.

So, that’s what I did. And I got these shoes to go with it.

Thank God I only have to do this once a year. I’d go crazy otherwise.

2 Responses to “irony and bloody noses”


  1. 1 Rachel Chip April 8, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    wow, those shoes looks so tall to me :) The skirt is super cute, but I’m sorry you couldn’t find the dress!

  2. 2 Laura's Biggest Fan April 9, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Love the outfit…especially the shoes! I am sure you look like a smokin’ hottie :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


