mission: impossible

I hate to even admit this, (actually, I’m realizing at the moment, just how many of you, my readers, already know this, because, well, you see it) but I rarely wear anything besides jeans, a nice shirt, and some cute shoes to church. I do have what I feel are legitimate reasons for this.

Reason #1 – Most skirts/dresses are too stinkin’ short for me.

Did you guys ever watch The Brady Bunch? I did as a child/teen/heck, adult whenever I can catch it on tv, and I remember thinking, whenever Cindy Brady came on-screen with her dresses that were WHOA short, “If she bends over, you’ll be able to see her underwear!” That’s pretty much how the skirt/dress world has been for me, my whole life.

Reason #2 – Dress pants aren’t long enough for me to wear a heal above 2 inches.

And y’all, I can’t even tell you the last time I wore a heel 2 inches or under.

So, jeans it has been. Especially because recently, American Eagle Outfitters started making jeans that come in extra-long length, which to me is like SCORE! I can wear my heels that are over 3 1/2 inches. Of which I own a few. (Hey, I know I’m tall, but my husband is 6’5″ I have a lot of room to work with!)

However, ever year at Easter, I really try hard to look like a girl. Like wear a dress or skirt or something. Remember last year? Girly, right? And oh, the shoes. Shoes are why I buy clothes in the first place.

Anyway, so I am really on a mission to find a cute Easter dress, since I wore a skirt last year. That comes in tall. And I found this:

cute-dressAhhhhhh. Ahem.

But, that thing is $130. Pre-married Fancythis would have that thing bought, paid for and chillin’ in her closet waiting for Easter morning. But I’m married now, and we’re saving for a house, yo. I can’t just go shellin’ out $130 for that thing without making sure that my husband won’t have a coronary about it first. But internets, the problem, or impossible mission – if you will, is convincing my husband that it is a GOOD idea to spend $130 on a dress. That our lives just won’t be as fulfilled without it. Furthermore, that I will also need some fabulous shoes (and maybe a purse! and some jewelry!) to make it even more fulfilling.

So help me bring that dress home internets. It needs a place where it will be loved and appreciated.

5 Responses to “mission: impossible”


  1. 1 Christine March 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Ok, I get your point. I love shoes and clothes more than anything. But think of it this way, the unfun way. If you want to spend the 200 + for an outfit that is about a 11.76% of a mortgage payment. Thought I might just be the party pooper for a minute. Sorry!!

  2. 2 Laura's Biggest Fan :) March 24, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Laura, I love it. I say go for it. Buy it. It just might change your life. I mean as far as I can see, this WILL change your life. Simply point out to your husband how RARE it is that you find a modest dress that is fashionable. He will simply have to agree with you. :)

  3. 3 Christine March 24, 2009 at 11:21 am

    My mom, as you know, is rather tall and she shops at eddie bauer, lord and taylor, and macy’s to mention a few- thought I might try being helpful rather than mean ;) I also found this website that you might want to check out: http://www.tallwomen.org/clothes/usa/

    P.S Thank you very much for your comment. Let me know if you want any of them or something like them and I will send them to you! Those are just some I have made- so I can make many kinds. :)

  4. 4 lifelemons March 24, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Unless you are taking up charitable donations I don’t see the Lukester falling for this one! You know I love you! ;) Perhaps we can go looking (shopping) together one night! ;)


  1. 1 irony and bloody noses « sunny side of life Trackback on April 8, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


