now it’s just becoming ridiculous

There’s a running joke in my church that goes something like this:

If you’ve been dating someone for three months, people wonder why you’re not engaged –
If you’ve been engaged to someone for three months, people wonder why you’re not married –
If you’ve been married to someone for three months, people wonder why you’re not pregnant.

It’s great fun.

On the whole, it’s just what I said it was – a joke. But people take the baby thing pretty seriously around there, and I’m not kidding.

I have my own little personal joke about “baby season” at the church.

Now, at any given moment, it seems as if there are at least 5 or so pregnant women in our congregation of about 1,000 attenders. But when baby season hits, all bets are off, and I mean it.

Just today I learned of 3 four (see comments) different women who are expecting – one of whom is expecting twins!

It’s like, in the water or something. I literally need my toes to count all the women within the church who have buns in their ovens.

I can just feel it, pretty soon it’s going to branch out of just my church circle, and either my best friend or one of my sisters-in-law are going to tell me that they too, are expecting.

STOP THE MADNESS!!!

6 Responses to “now it’s just becoming ridiculous”


  1. 1 melissa from girlymama February 11, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    there will be no news coming from this oven.

    hopefully.

  2. 2 Lynne February 11, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Do you know that I am? And who is having twins?!

  3. 3 fancythis February 11, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    oh good grief lynne…..you’re proving my point!!!! ;)
    Congratulations!!!!

  4. 4 lifelemons February 12, 2009 at 7:33 am

    LOL! I find this to be mildly hilarious! Don’t be trying to but a pregnant hex on me!

  5. 5 DDTM February 12, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    If it makes you feel any better:
    I have been married for 8 months and haven’t had a baby – and I can 100% guarantee that I won’t be pregnant in the next 8 months either.

    You and Mrs. C. on the other hand…..by October. :)

  6. 6 R. February 12, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    L. It just shows that christians like sex (in the proper context of course.) who ever said they were prudes. They obviously don’t know what they are talking about.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


