monkey brains: you can eat them…and they’re tasty!

Saturday night my sister has a friend over. She’s a favorite of mine among the many my sister has. Maybe because she’s been around pretty long….or maybe because she is actually friends with my sister because she wants to be friends with her….and not date her twin. She gets that a  lot surprisingly.

Anyway, we’re sitting there playing Acquire, an awesome game that my Brother-in-law introduced me to that I finally found without having to order it online, and Kristina says:

“Have you guys ever had monkey brains?”

“Monkey brains, is she serious?” I said this in my head, because I don’t know what the teens are up to these days, and in order to keep my cool-points in tact, I just listen and then speak.

“EWWWWWWWW, monkey brains?” This was my sister. Apparently, this was not some weird teen fad I was not aware of.

“Yeah, um, Kristina, ew.” I finally said something out loud.

Nooooo you guys, not real monkey brains, do you actually think I’d eat those?” (Again, who really knows with kids these days) “Ok, monkey brains are like little mini cinnamon buns, they’re so easy to make and they’re soo yummy; we should make them!”

“Okay.” My sister and I both agreed, a little shaken if I’m being honest. How were we to know that she wasn’t tricking us, you know?

So we made the monkey brains. Internets, let me just tell you, you’ve never had something so tasty that was made so quickly. And! If you’re dieting, like the rest of America in the throws of New Year’s Resolutions, they’re super-teeny so if you have one, or two, or three, it really isn’t the end of the world! I promise!

Behold! I give you monkey brains:

dsc01496

Now you want to know how to make these tasty little treats, don’t you? Well, I’ll share the secret with you, but only if you promise to tell me how you liked them if you decide to make them. Promise? Ok, here we go.

(This recipe can be doubled, just as we did above, the cooking time is just a little longer. Also, with the exception of the biscuits, the other ingredients are just estimates, you really can make this to your liking)

Ingredients:

One can of Pillsbury Buttermilk Grands! Biscuits
1/4 cup of sugar
1 tablespoons of cinnamon
butter – for greasing the pan and dotting

Directions:

Preheat your oven according to the directions on the biscuits. Grease an 8×8 baking pan with butter – no substitutions! (Notice that when we doubled the recipe above, we used a 9×13) Combine cinnamon and sugar in a zip-lock freezer bag. Cut biscuits into eighths. In batches of about one full biscuit, shake mini-biscuits in cinnamon-sugar until coated with the mixture and then place them into the greased pan. Repeat until all mini-biscuits are coated. Dot the top of the biscuits with butter. Bake according to the time listed on the biscuit can, or until a fork inserted comes out clean.

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “monkey brains: you can eat them…and they’re tasty!”


  1. 1 collegegirl January 27, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    aka monkey bread. SO DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 lifelemons January 28, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    It scares me a little! It looks like potatoes cut up in the picture!

  3. 3 antsmarching January 30, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    love these!!! my family always called them monkey bread though :) a special treat for camping!

  4. 4 Cazare Timisoara Ieftina September 7, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    You could certainly see your expertise in the paintings
    you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    Always follow your heart.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


