one of those people

First you should know, that I have enjoyed having my husband around immensely. Probably more than immensely. In fact, I’m pretty sure that there isn’t a good enough word in the English language to describe the happiness I feel at having him home.

I would also like to take this time to say that there is no one else in this world who knows what it’s like to have a spouse gone like I did except for other military spouses. We are in a club that few enjoy being a part of. Yes I’m proud of him, yes I know that this job makes him happy and he feels a certain fulfillment as a result. But I wish that he were anything else. Anything.

That being said, I can’t wait to spend time getting to know him again. That’s the fun part.

Also, a VERY SPECIAL shout-out to DDTM and his wifey, who had champagne and a fruit and cheese tray waiting for us in our hotel room upon our arrival. I still have no idea how you found out where we were staying, but I’m almost (ok, not really at all) willing to stop my attempts in finding out since it was one of the most thoughtful things EVER.

******************************************************************************************************************

Ok.

So tomorrow, I’m going with a busload of people to New York City to watch the tree-lighting ceremony at Rockefeller Center. I am aware that there will be other people there. Thousands of other people. This will be my first extended trip to NYC. I’ve been there once before – for Valentine’s Day, but we only went out to eat and then went to the top of the Empire State Building.

I haven’t been back since.

Tomorrow we’re doing other tourist-y stuff. Shopping on 5th Avenue, Ice Skating in Central Park, you know, annoying, non-resident stuff. The kind of stuff that I’m sure drives real New Yorkers nuts.

We apologize in advance for stopping in the middle of the sidewalk to take pictures, squealing with delight at the sight of anything that is in essence very “New York”, being too chipper, the fact that our 24-passenger bus is going to create even more traffic on some of the busiest streets in the US during the most chaotic time of year, looking for celebrities and then stopping to take their pictures when/if we find any, and just in general being very un-cool. We just can’t help it.

But please don’t rob, mug, or rape any of us, it’s not really an even trade.

1 Response to “one of those people”


  1. 1 lifelemons December 3, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Hope you have fun! Wish I could have gone too.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


