plunging to my death – or otherwise entitled – the sunny side of life was this close to becoming extinct

This weekend, I was away with our youth group at the Reality Factor 2008 retreat. This year, we stayed here – North Bay Adventure Camp. This was the first time we have changed our yearly retreat location in some four thousand years. North Bay was better than our previous location for the following reasons:

the rooms were MUCH nicer

there were 2 toilets/showers for every 10 people as opposed to every 100 hundred people

the food was REAL food

the rooms were MUCH nicer

there were more activities for the kids (and leaders) to do during free time – this meant that they were actually TIRED at the end of the day and wanted to SLEEP as opposed to keeping leaders up all night

it was more technologically advanced

the rooms were MUCH nicer

Needless to say, it was a blast, spending time with kids, delving into the scriptures with them – it was wonderful. So at this wonderful NorthBay, there was a zip line. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it here before, but I’m not the biggest fan of heights. That is to say, I’m pretty sure that I would rather stand face to face with Osama Bin Laden himself, than to do anything that relates to me standing on, near, or within 5 miles of anything resembling a mountain or very large hill. (skyscrapers and airplanes also fall into this category). I was feeling particularly brave, however, and I decided to go for this zip line thing and risk my life.

So I went with one of the moms (who’s also a leader) as a sort of mind trick to myself. Like “If this 40something woman can find the courage within her to do this, I had better get my act together.” So I did it.

I know it looks like I had fun, but I’m here to tell you, it was SCARY. They make you jump off – by yourself. Sure, they have some guy up there egging you on, but that’s no good if he doesn’t actually make you do it.   They can’t make you – for legal reasons or some such nonsense. And let’s not even talk about that little thong-like apparatus that allegedly is a safety harness. I had the guy at the top check it twice before I would even go. This was after the first lady had already strapped me in it and told me I was good to go.

Then, as if I hadn’t had enough, I did it again! I didn’t get that one on film because the woman who filmed the first trip of death actually went with me the 2nd time. It was good fun. And I must say, I have this strange sense of pride in myself now. I actually faced a fear – head on! and beat it!

As one of the leaders says – I am more than a conqueror. Woo-hoo! Will I do it again? Maybe, just maybe.

Really what I’m trying to say, is that I’d like to be appreciated around here a little more. You could have lost me – and then what?!

2 Responses to “plunging to my death – or otherwise entitled – the sunny side of life was this close to becoming extinct”


  1. 1 DDTM October 22, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    If we lost you, we’d have to go back to reading Michael’s blog. Which is not nearly as fun. Please do not disappear from us.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


