dear brides of 9/6/08 (on the east coast)

Today is your wedding day and I know that you must be thrilled. You’ve spent countless hours pouring over every detail of your big day, and it’s finally here.

I too, made similar preparations 2 years ago (my anniversary was September 2) and even now, i can remember the “day of” jitters as I embarked upon a brand new chapter in my life. I couldn’t wait.

But,  we overlooked one tiny detail didn’t we? While we were discussing cakes and flowers, and colors and dresses, and even the moment when we finally decided on a date, we overlooked the most important of details; the mother of them all – the weather.

I know what you non-September brides are thinking. “You can’t predict the weather.” you say “It’s all chance – anyone could have a rainy wedding day!” To a certain extent, you’re right. We certainly cannot predict the weather and anyone could have a rainy wedding day.

But we September brides aren’t that fortunate. No, in fact we would kill for a rainy wedding day.

Because mother nature only bestows a certain special gift on September brides – the hurricane.

This year, it’s name is Hanna. Today, brides all over the East Coast are scratching the name Hanna (and different versions thereof) off of there “potential baby names” list just as I did with Ernesto 2 years ago. (Okay, Ernesto was never actually on my list, but still)

She’s ruining all of your plans – outside photos, carriage rides, hair that doesn’t frizz – it’s all gone now. Your plans have had to change at a moments notice.

I can sympathize. I too had plans that fell through. My reception was here and should have looked like this or even this. Instead, we had closed tents and gale force winds.

But it’s ok, because at the end of the day, you’re still married to your prince and one day, you’ll be able to look back on this day and laugh.

Right now? Right now, some stupid insanely insensitive bridesmaid/family member/guest is reminding you that it’s a sign of good luck to have rain on your wedding day, and you’re trying not to cry. Do me a favor will you? Punch them square in the face, once for yourself, and then once for me because I didn’t and I have lived to regret that day. Then, fly off to your honeymoon and drink a margarita for the both of us, we deserve it.

3 Responses to “dear brides of 9/6/08 (on the east coast)”


  1. 1 lifelemons September 6, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    ROFLMAO! So true! I can’t believe I never said it but Happy Anniversary!

  2. 2 em September 7, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Yea me too! I suck sometimes!

  3. 3 DDTM September 9, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I like Ernesto Angert. You should go with that.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


