shakin’ in my flip-flops

In 2 and a half-ish days, I will be leaving to go on a missions trip to the Dominican Republic.

I do not like flying (which, they tell me, is the only possible way of getting there).

I do not like bugs (which I hear there is an abundance of).

I do not like being reminded of the fact that we areΒ the most spoiled nation on the face of this planet (which I hear is unavoidable).

I do like challenging myself. And expecting the unexpected. And being totally in the grip of my Lord’s hands (ok, I don’t always enjoy that, it means I’m not in control, but I like it right now). And thinking about someone besides myself, and what struggles I’m going through.

So I guess I’m looking forward to this.

Except for the flying. I hate flying.

3 Responses to “shakin’ in my flip-flops”


  1. 1 lifelemons July 17, 2008 at 6:34 am

    (((HUGS))) You’ll do fine!

  2. 2 Juanita's Mom July 17, 2008 at 6:41 am

    You will love it because there are so many things you forgot to put on your list:

    You love serving the Lord!

    You love meeting new people!

    You love helping people!

    You love youth group kids!

    You love singing worship songs and sharing smiles and having a totally awesome expereince to share with your husband and getting to pack shoes and eating really good food (beans and rice is somehow different and so good over there!) and being stretched and proving to yourself that you can survive a whole week without a new outfit!

    Have an AWESOME time!

    Praying for you!

  3. 3 Rachel July 18, 2008 at 10:32 am

    You’ll have such a great time! Remember, you will watch movies and you won’t even know you’re on the plane. If you flew to India, you can fly to the DR. I’ll be thinking of and praying for you guys!! Love you!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


