5 years

5 years ago, this month, I met you. I can vividly remember seeing the back of your head as I walked down the aisle toward the pew you were sitting in. I remember your chin and your eyes, and your smile. You smiled at me. I don’t remember a single thing about the sermon that Sunday, I only remember you.

I remember thinking that I’d never see you again; that your shadow would never again cross the threshold of those church doors. I was wrong.

You came back, and we became acquainted with one another, and I remember being stunned at how quickly I began to fall for you. I kept waiting for something to go wrong, anything that would take you away from me. But on our relationship progressed.

In the 5 years since that first wonderful day, we’ve had to struggle through some dark times and float through happy times. We’ve spent time together and time apart. We got married, lived together and loved one another. They have been 5 wonderful years. 

God made you for me. He picked you out of millions for me, long before I was even conceived. I am yours and you are mine.

I am so thankful for the path that has lead us here. I am so thankful that you didn’t go to college where your parents and siblings before you chose to go. I am so thankful that you chose that Sunday to come to my church. I am so thankful that I was there. I am so thankful for meddling friends.

I am so thankful for you.

5 years isn’t that long, and I hope that there are many more where this 5 came from.

I love you. I miss you. I can’t wait to see your face again.

2 Responses to “5 years”


  1. 1 Joe Pulcinella July 6, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    And I’m glad I was the one you chose to shoot your wedding! Still my favorite kiss photo ever! :o)

  2. 2 lifelemons July 7, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I miss him too! I can’t believe it has been five years, time flies way too fast!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


