throwback thursday – prom 2002

This is a picture of me with my date at my Senior Prom, 6 years ago this month:

Obviously, this man is not my wonderful husband. I decided to participate in Throwback Thursday (for the first time ever!) because it amazes me how much my life has changed since High School. Just sixyears ago. Y’see, I thought for sure that I was going to marry the man in this picture, but I didn’t. (Much to the apparent chagrin of one Mr. Bitler) And I thought, for kicks and shiggles, that I would do a “Top Ten” list of my own. So, I give you;

The (top, because there are many more than are listed here) Ten Things I learned from my Highschool Prom date (my then boyfriend):

10. Pretty does not mean perfect. (except of course in my case)

9. Women should not pursue men. It’s their job, and they’ve also been cursed with the desire to let the woman have her “reign” over them, and so if you do the pursuing, you’re also giving them a good reason to let you do all of the courting and wooing too. Which leads me to….

8. If you pay for his meals, not only does he not owe you that money, but why should he pay for yours if you’re so willing to fork over the cash?

7. Your significant other should want to be around you all of the time.

6. 2nd chances should be just that. Second chances, not 3rd or 4th or 5th……

5. No man’s feet deserve to be graveled at. NONE. (I’m speaking figuratively here, please do not think that I actually graveled at his feet)

4. If he says he’s not sure about you/his feelings for you/your relationship…..GET OUT. He knows you’re week and will settle for 2nd best, so he has no reason to give 100% of himself to you. He will be looking out for someone better than you.

3. There is no one better than you. It’s a shame that he doesn’t see it, but that’s his loss; don’t spend your whole life trying to make him realize that you are the best. He should be opening your door and buying you flowers and such. Unfortunately, he’ll only get it after it’s too late.

2. If NONE of your friends/family think he’s right for you, THEY’RE RIGHT!

And the number ONE thing that I learned from my Highschool Prom date is….

1. I cannot change people, only God can. No matter how much sweeter I wanted him to be, or more committed, or more romantic, or more whatever…….he wasn’t. And I spent far too much of my time agonizing over it. Wasted time. Time I could have spent perfecting my relationship with God, preparing myself for the man who he really wanted me to spend my life with.

I’m sure to some of you I sound bitter, or angry, but I can assure you that those feelings are only toward myself, for allowing it to happen. We were young (remember? highschool) but I had an adult mentality with relationships and wanted far more from him (emotionally) than he was ready to give.

I’m not making excuses for him, it’s true. I think of adult men who act that way much differently; they need to grow up. We were just kids and I thank God every day that he was in my life for 2 reasons.

-As a friend, he was awesome and we really did have some good times together.

-I have an appreciation for my Husbandthat I don’t think I would have otherwise. My husbandeven gets the little things right; He opens doors, surprises me with cards and flowers, and treats me like the lady (or princess, as these terms are interchangable) that I am. I love him so much, and in looking back, don’t think that I would have changed the course of things even if I could.

6 Responses to “throwback thursday – prom 2002”


  1. 1 girlymama May 9, 2008 at 8:32 am

    you forgot “always listen to your dad”

    my dad was ALWAYS right about my boyfriends. he would say “he’s way too clingy” or “he self-absorbed” and he would ALWAYS be completely right!

    Course he also thought that husband was fantastic. i don’t think he ever said anything bad about him. so there you go.

  2. 2 DDTM May 9, 2008 at 8:47 am

    so many things to say….so little internet:

    10. Such a LLA thing so say. :)
    9. Maybe not – but women should not be as coy and difficult as they are. Men don’t get little hints and subtle inflections, so if you communicate _just_ a little more clearly that you wouldn’t mind pursuit you might get more pursuit.
    Of course in my case I pursued even when I knew there wasn’t any interest – and look what that got me. :)
    8. Yep.
    7. True.
    6. Preach it, sister!
    5. “Groveled”. Unless you really threw gravel at his feet, in which case I have a whole new level of respect for you!
    4. Yes.
    3. Agree.
    2. Or former youth leaders. :)
    1. Absolutely true.

  3. 3 lifelemons May 9, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Ah, that one person that changes the way we look at relationships, I remember it well.

    P.S. I was looking at our prom pictures the other day and saw that one, too funny that you post it a couple weeks later.

  4. 4 Rachel Chip May 9, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    very fun picture :)

  5. 5 dcrmom May 10, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Aw, great lessons! I’m so glad you found the man of your dreams. :=)

  6. 6 yhen May 13, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    1. I cannot change people, only God can. No matter how much sweeter I wanted him to be, or more committed, or more romantic, or more whatever…….he wasn’t. And I spent far too much of my time agonizing over it. Wasted time. Time I could have spent perfecting my relationship with God, preparing myself for the man who he really wanted me to spend my life with.

    yes, it is true that only God can change people. He is in control of everything. we should entrust everything to Him. thanks for sharing this…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


