one small step backward

So, I’m trying to lose weight, and be healthy and exercise and all, right?

So last Thursday night, I did my first scheduled workout with my little brother Jake. It was AWESOME. I really felt like I got an incredible workout, one that made me actually WANT to keep working out.

And then…….(because isn’t there always an “and then”?)

I woke up the next morning with an NFL-regulation-football-sized knee, which became harder and more painful to walk on as the day progressed and eventually had me couch-ridden for the next 48 hours. (I will not complain about the couch-ridden part, as my family waited on me hand and foot)

I pushed aside my disdain for Doctors/medicine, and visited the family Doctor today who told me to pretty much keep doing what I’m doing (they get paid for that, see why I have disdain, see?!) which is basically what my husband calls r.i.c.e. – Rest, Ice, Compress, Elevate- and walk on crutches, and even though she thinks that I only have a minor tear of the cartilage, she sent me to have and x-ray (where the x-ray technician was out for the day. Again, disdain!) and said that I should do these funky leg exercises, but if it still bothers me in 4-6 weeks I should come back and visit her.

I want her job.

I have been forbidden from ever doing squats (the cause of the knee injury) again. Which, I pretty much expected. A person with arthritic knees should be doing no such exercise. And I’m not really allowed to do any exercises which require the bending of my knee(s) for the next 4-6 weeks. Which kind of eliminates anything requiring me to stand.

I think God wants me to just stay the weight I am.

2 Responses to “one small step backward”


  1. 1 girlymama March 4, 2008 at 8:31 am

    poor baby!

    i can’t do squats either. or lunges. they make my knees KILL.

    PILATES honey!!! firm, tone, lift… all while laying down!


  1. 1 evil, your name is bernie « sunny side of life Trackback on October 14, 2008 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


