happy birthday to me……

What? But I thought it was your birthday a month ago.

It was. Well, sort of.

My girlfriends and I always go the The Melting Pot for one another’s birthdays, and, in addition to the actual (tangible) present the birthday girl receives, her dinner at The Melting Pot is also paid for. We rock, right?

So, since my parents decided that Christmastime was such a fabulous time to have a child, we kill 2 birds with one stone on my day and celebrate Christmas too!

(As a side note, my friends do not combine my Christmas and Birthday presents, they rock like that. Unless what they get me for my birthday is so expensive, then I’m sure they would, but it hasn’t happened yet.)

So we were all set and ready to go on December 22nd, when all of a sudden, as I was walking by someone one day who apparently had the plague, my body decided that it wanted to get in on some of that action and therefore knock me off my feet for several days.

I’m not kidding. There was phloem, and stuffy noses, and fevers, oh my! I was a mess, and made Birthday history (with my girlfriends) by being the first girl ever to cancel her own birthday dinner. I know, tragic!

So tonight is make-up night.

I’m actually really excited because I got them both some AWESOME Christmas presents that I have been DYING to give to them for at least a month now and it’s killing me. I will be receiving the award for best present-giver this year as I went a smidge overboard.

I can’t help it, Lemon’s husband (Hi Tom!) has declared that with the birth of their new little baby will come the hacking off of our birthday trips to The Melting Pot. Apparently, kids are expensive or something. And my husband (because sometimes, I’m convinced we married the same person) wholeheartedly agreed.

“You can’t expect this to go on forever.” he once said after the news of The Melting Pot no-more rule. “They’ve got a family now, The Melting Pot is frivolous spending that they are wise to cut out.”

Humbug.

So because of this, I decided to go out with a bang with presents. I’ll be bringing my camera so that I can capture this momentous occasion on film.

Although, there is that tiny glimmer of hope that Tom will forget the rule, and all will be as it once was………..

3 Responses to “happy birthday to me……”


  1. 1 girlymama January 5, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    eats loads of chocolate fondue for me! with cheesecake! and strawberries…

    now i want to go. hrumph.

  2. 2 lifelemons January 5, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Both of the husbands suck, although I love them both dearly ;)

    I am sooooo excited to go, that I did my hair and make-up already! Yes, at 2:00 because I smoke crack.

    See you tonight! YAY!


  1. 1 Hm… « When Life Hands You Lemons… Trackback on January 5, 2008 at 3:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


