how old are you? um, 18.

Yesterday was my birthday, and I believe that I’ve finally reached the age where it’s inappropriate for someone to ask me how old I am.

Simply put – 23 sounds terribly close to 30 and I don’t like the sound of it.

Long gone are the days of “18” when people look at you with the longing in their eyes of when they too were 18 and all was right with the world.

Now, I’m old enough to sound too far gone for my teenaged siblings to catch up to me. “You’re old” they say, and mean it, even though they chuckle to ease the sharpness of the pain from the knife they just plunged into my heart.

If I were the type to get drunk, it would no longer seem appropriate (In my mind, because really seeing someone get drunk is pathetic enough, but when you’re beyond 21 there’s a special kind of pitiful associated with it) since I am 2 (two!) years older than the “official drinking age”.

What happened to the years of pin the tail on the donky and spin the bottle? They’re only now retreivable when I have children of my own. Which, as an aside, I am able to (responsibly) do now as well. I remember when having children seemed like such a foreign concept, something I would never get to do (right up there with getting married and having sex), but alas, those things aren’t out of reach anymore.

I’m such an adult, and yet, I remember my childhood with such clarity sometimes that I feel like I’m not so far removed from that awkward girl in high school with the glasses and braces (oh, the torture!) looking out into the world and wondering what it had in store for little ol’ me.

6 Responses to “how old are you? um, 18.”


  1. 1 lifelemons December 20, 2007 at 8:50 am

    But yet the people older than us still call us babes when they ask our age. Clearly 23 is old in our own minds as I am right there with you, before you know it we will indeed be 30! (Yes, this is something I think about all the time)EEK!

  2. 2 DDTM December 20, 2007 at 11:39 am

    1) Ahem.
    2) You are _so_ *young*!
    3) The fiance just turned…..25; so she is right there with you. She is young and vibrant and pretty and in no way near the old age that I am. Nope. 25 – that’s how old she is. 25.

  3. 3 workingirl December 20, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Happy Birthday (a little late!!!) Sorry – I’ve been up to my ears in work and haven’t even glanced at my planner in about 6 days…

  4. 4 dcrmom December 21, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Um. 23? I think plenty of us are still looking at you with longing. Happy birthday, you baby, you!! :-)

  5. 5 girlymama December 21, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    i turned 29 this year.

    and i totally understand feeling super ancient ;-)


  1. 1 happy birthday to me…… « sunny side of life Trackback on January 5, 2008 at 12:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


