hello. hello?!

Generally speaking, when someone calls you, you answer the phone with a simple “hello?”, correct?

It is then the responsibility of the person who called, to either ask for who they wish to speak with or to start chatting it up with you, as you are the person they want to speak with.

This is very simple phone etiquette.

Why then, does it seem that noone gets it?

The following is a phone call from this morning:

Ring, Ring.

Me: Hello?

Silence.

Me: Hello?

More silence.

Me: Hello?

Again, silence.

Me: HELLO?!

Lady: Hello?

Me: (thinking, “are you kidding me?”) Hello?

Lady: Hello?

Me: (I am not playing this stupid game) Silence.

Lady: (after about 30 seconds of my silence) mumble mumble, wrong cell phone number. Click.

I don’t even have the words to describe my astonishment at the stupidity of some people. If you don’t know how to use a phone, don’t.

It’ll save the rest of us from having to deal with you.

4 Responses to “hello. hello?!”


  1. 1 lifelemons July 12, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    This really made me want to prank call you! People suck!

  2. 2 Annie July 12, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    I laugh because I totally relate. I get about 10 calls a day (at work) where people will just hang up after I answer. That’s equally as stupid, and 100 times as rude. If you have the wrong number, aren’t you supposed to apologize???

  3. 3 pinkrawkstar July 12, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    HAHAHA! I HATE that too! It’s SO annoying! Or when you answer the phone, only to be greeted with, “Who’s this?”. Um, YOU called ME! Who the hell are YOU? :-)

  4. 4 fancythis July 12, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    I agree Annie, it’s the worst! It’s better to hear someone say sorry than to have them hang up in your ear!

    rawkstar, that’s my FAVORITE!!! I love when people do that!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


