aaaahhhh family vacation

Before I go any further I really think that all of you should say a prayer and thank the Lord above that I’m alive.

Of course I’m being dramatic, but I did get into a car accident on Friday the 22nd. Convenient timing, since I was on my way to BIL’s house for the start of vacation time. Basically, the car in front of the car in front of me slammed on the breaks, which caused the guy in front of me to slam on his, thus forcing me to slam on mine except mine locked and sent me flying (ok, maybe flying is a bit much, I was only going about 25 mph) into the back of his vehicle. I had at least enough sense about me to attempt to swerve, and so the front right of my car hit the back left of his.

If there was ever a reason to never buy an American car ever again, I can give it to you. I was driving hub’s 97 Honda Accord, which by the way has been through its share of wrecks to begin with. The guy I hit was driving a 2005 Chevy Mailbu which was apparently made of cardboard and paper mache because his whole freaking back bumper was on the verge of completely falling off. My car is still drivable and only has minor crunch damage to the headlight part of the car.

So, there’s your reason to never buy American. Moving on.

The weekend was slightly chaotic in and of itself what with screaming infants and toddler-esque children jumping all over our air-mattress thus removing the air from it which basically had hubs and I sleeping on the floor, all the while opening my coin purse and dumping it’s contents. Twice.

Sunday we visited their church and then headed off to what was to be our home for the week in Ocean City, NJ.

It’s a gorgeous home, that couldn’t have been decorated more like Pottery Barn if the owners tried. It was adorable.

Things got off to a relatively rocky start for me as in an attempt to be Wonder Woman, I carried most of our (hubs and I) luggage to our room and pulled a muscle or something in my back. Not. Fun. I did this only to discover that the room I was carrying our luggage to had 2 twin beds in it. Twin beds. For a man who is 6’5″ and a woman who is 5’10”.  Not to mention a newly-wed man and woman who still enjoy one another’s.. er…company. Needless to say, I was much more bitter than hubs (“The king-size sheets are ours and we don’t even get to sleep on them?!”) who tried his hand at convincing me that it would all be ok. (“We’ll just push them together, it’ll be fine!) So, a great start.

Monday, it rained. No further explanation required.

Tuesday we finally made our way down to the beach and I’m so glad we did. Needless to say, hubs (and ok, me too) was getting his own dose of birth-control being in a house with all 4 kids. Also, everyone left earlier than I did, and I got at least an hour of quiet all to myself to read and enjoy the ocean.

Wednesday was pretty much the same. Nothing extra to report.

Thursday was more of a lazy hang around day in which all the women-folk gave the men the kids for a couple hours so we could go out to lunch. It was a good time. We capped the night off with a birthday celebration for now-one-year-old Emma. Super cute.

Friday morning hubs and I left early for our annual Hershey Park trip with my family which was an absolute blast. My Aunt came up from West Virginia with all the kids and it was just a fun-filled day at the “Sweetest Place on Earth”.

So, now that you know what I’ve been up to, I hope you all can move on with your lives, I know you were on the edge of your seats waiting for a vacation update!

4 Responses to “aaaahhhh family vacation”


  1. 1 girlymama July 3, 2007 at 7:54 am

    I agree. Never buy American cars. I’ve never owned one. Don’t plan to! And my dad worked for Ford for… my whole life. Ahem.

    As for the twin beds, let us be thankful. The old shore house we went to had almost all twin beds and all of the beds were so, shall we say ‘squeaky,’ that “company” was a bit tricky. At least these beds were less then 50 years old!!

  2. 2 DDTM July 3, 2007 at 8:51 am

    Does this mean I will get a neice soon?

  3. 3 dcrmom July 3, 2007 at 10:11 am

    Go figure! I was at Ocean City last week too! You must have been vacationing with Girlymama. :-) Oh, and we had 4 people (sometimes 5) in those two twin beds that were pushed together every night. So thank your lucky stars it was just you two amazons and you didn’t have to share with a passel of kids. ;-)


  1. 1 back to school….er, work « sunny side of life Trackback on August 13, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


