home is where your heart is

I’ve always wanted to live in North Carolina.

I think it has something to do with the fact that its in the South and yet, still has an ocean bordering at least one side.

I’ll readily admit that reading Nicholas Sparks novels further implanted this idea in my head, and now I just can’t get rid of it.

The problem with this idea is that it would put me a good 7 hour drive from my family, something that I’m quite leery of. I like being close to them. I enjoy being a part of their day-to-day goings on and knowing that I can stop in a visit at the drop of a hat.

But I really want to live in NC.

Husband is easy to convince either way as he feels no strong ties toward any one particular area that isn’t Pakistan, but I don’t see a move to there happening any time in the future. I’ve been looking at jobs and houses down there for when he returns from deployment, and I really want to make the move, I’m just uneasy about leaving my family “behind”. I know that it’s really not that big of a deal, it is only 7 hours, I just want to make sure that it’s the right decision for us.

On the plus side, where I’m looking at is super-close the the ocean, which we all know I adore, and housing is super-cheap! If this trend continues until hubby comes back, our decision could be made for us.

4 Responses to “home is where your heart is”


  1. 1 lifelemons June 21, 2007 at 9:42 am

    I would miss you bunches! But, I would totally understand! I am the same way when it comes to moving to MO.

  2. 2 Thinking Out Loud June 21, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Well come on over! I live in the foothills. You’d be pretty brave, in my book, to move close to the ocean. Hurricanes like it there. This is a beautiful state though!

  3. 3 Amber June 21, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    NC is a beautiful state….my brother lives there and I’ve always loved it when I visited. Well, except for the stifling humidity, but you’re talking to a CA girl here. I say follow your heart. If you never moved to NC, would you look back and regret it? If you think you would, then I say at least try it…..you could move into a rental so you’re not stuck if you decide it’s not for you. :-)

  4. 4 R. June 21, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    I’ve often thought about moving south. I’m more torn abotu leaving my friends and church. Have you checked to see if there is a train route that you could take or to see if any of the airlines fly between the two places at cheap shuttle type price? It may just be 45 minutes by plane and at a price under a around $70 each way. Maybe that would make it easier for you.

    By the way, you never answered my question about the job. What happen to the one you interviewed for?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


