the pot and the kettle

We’ve all heard of the phrase, right? I hope so.

So, in my dating history are 2 young men who are black. Chris and Roddy. I am mocked for it frequently, not because they are black, but because they are 2 young men who……just weren’t right for me. Also, they were (still are? not sure) best friends. More mocking.

Because I’m a youth leader, my dating history is frequently brought up as a “what not to do” example to my kids.

I’m not exactly sure of the context, but another leader (who was actually around for that part of my teen life) and I had just been talking about them and shortly after we changed the subject. I then said something that required that the pot/kettle phrase be said and then the other leader chuckled and said:

“It’s like the Chris calling the Roddy black.”

I of course was driven into fits of laughter, because what else can you do?

3 Responses to “the pot and the kettle”


  1. 1 lifelemons May 31, 2007 at 6:38 am

    That is just wrong/hilarious!

  2. 2 R. May 31, 2007 at 8:07 am

    Sounds like something DDTM would have said. I also would have thought that the bringing up of “that” time would have ended by now. I know that I haven’t said anything in a while about it.

  3. 3 mamadoggylove May 31, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Questionable choices in guys? Oh yes, I’ve been there…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


