dear mommy, thank you

Thank you for picking up our dirty landry.

Thank you for washing our dirty laundry!

Thank you for healthy home-cooked meals (almost) every day.

Thank you for getting excited over the little things.

Thank you for making Christmas more than just a present-filled holiday. (the presents were awesome though!)

Thank you for being such a neat-freak. Our home was always a comfortable place to be. (I think some of it may have rubbed off onto me too!)

Thank you for having such big babies and birthing us naturally. It gives me lots to brag about.

Thank you for reading to me. I love to read.

Thank you for encouraging me to do the best I could in school. I did well because of you.

Thank you for recognizing the differences in all of us. The fact that you acknowledged that we’re all different is what helped  us to flourish on our own.

Thank you for taking us to the park.

Thank you for going on school field trips with us.

Thank you for putting up with such a rotten teanager.

Thank you for loving me in spite of my rottenness.

Thank you for forgiving me the mistakes I’ve made.

Thank you for preventing me from making bigger ones.

Thank you for your selflessness. I can’t remember ever wanting as a child in spite of the fact that I know we didn’t have much.

Thanks for being such a good friend.

Thank you for not making fun of me when I call you with silly questions now that I’m on my own.

Most of all, thank you for the sacrifice you made in staying home with all of us. I know it was trying, I know it was hard, I know you had to be frustrated and lonely and even crazy sometimes, but I thank you that I never knew. All I or any of us, Zachary, Andrea, Jacob, and Benjamin ever knew was love. You’re the type of mother I want to be someday and I hope and pray that my children can say the same thing of me.

I love you.

1 Response to “dear mommy, thank you”


  1. 1 lifelemons May 13, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    What a great post! I love your mom too!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


