it’s like i ran a marathon

Since I took Horticulture in high-school, my family uses me as their resident landscape professional/florist. I don’t mind really because I enjoy gardening very much, and find that I can convince my family to buy plants that I love.

Yesterday, I helped my Aunt kick off her gardening. For most, what we completed yesterday would have been enough to landscape their yard 4 times over, for my Aunt it was just the beginning. She has a beautiful (very large) home on about an acre. While most people only focus their attention on their front yards we had the daunting task of making the area around her in-ground pool pleasing to the eye as well.

Fortunately for both of us (or really her, as she does it mostly by herself every year) when they had the house built they had it professionally landscaped in the front, so we just planted the “filler” annual flowers around an already established, beautiful perennial  garden.

The back yard is the killer.

She has 20 bajillion pots that have to be planted and two HUGE flower beds that have to be planted pretty much from scratch. (she does have a few perennials in one of the beds)

Amid all of the bending and digging and planting and covering (repeat 20 bajillion x’s) I managed to get a really good workout, and somewhat of a farmer’s tan. This morning I’m exhausted and thinking that I should head back to cardio class to start working out again.

Gardening should be an olympic sport.

6 Responses to “it’s like i ran a marathon”


  1. 1 girlymama May 11, 2007 at 9:43 am

    TELL ME about it!

    I dug a new flower bed on Saturday and I am STILL sore!!!

  2. 2 fancythis May 11, 2007 at 10:24 am

    lol, i think that will be my workout for the week!

  3. 3 DDTM May 11, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Does this mean in addition to contracting you to clean for me I can get you to fix my lawn? I need flowers and stone and pretty things too!

  4. 4 fancythis May 11, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    I would rather garden than clean!

  5. 5 lifelemons May 11, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Haha! I love my garden yet hate to do yard work! On the bright side you got a great work out and a tan!

  6. 6 Vanessa May 12, 2007 at 11:29 am

    I’ll give you my address and you can… maybe… make my flowers live. The only thing I can do is make my grass really really green. That’s no problem… this is where flowers come to die. It’s sad really.
    Speaking of that… have you been watching ANTM! Who’s you favorite? It’s tough. I don’t really really love any of them.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


