too much time on my hands

I finished another book.

I’m getting more adventurous with my reading lately. These are books that I wouldn’t otherwise pick up and read. Just as I enjoy “chick-flick” movies, I do the same with my reading. Lately though, I’ve been picking up murder mysteries, and books like the one I finished today, which was absolutely fabulous.

The book? The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

It’s from the perspective of the murdered 14-year-old Susie Salmon- “like the fish”- and her “life” after death of watching her family with longing, and her murderer, just hoping that someone will find the evidence needed to convict him.

It really pulls on your heart strings because you feel the grief of having lost a loved one, and yet its the lost whose story you’re reading. It’s really bizarre actually, but so, so good.

I also read, while browsing online, that good ol’ Peter Jackson (director of The Lord of the Rings) has picked it up and it’s slated to come out in theaters some time in 2009. Emma Roberts (niece of Julia) is set to play Susie Salmon. Of course, this is all tentative, but I’m really looking forward to it.

Ok, so go get the book and read it people. You’ll be glad you did!

3 Responses to “too much time on my hands”


  1. 1 R. May 8, 2007 at 10:52 am

    I have several of those types of books that I can recommend if you want to broaden your horizons even more.
    R.

  2. 2 lifelemons May 8, 2007 at 11:08 am

    I will definitely be reading this one!

    I like to read Lilian Jackon-Braun.

  3. 3 DDTM May 8, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    So does this mean you & the hubby will be watching “NCIS” and “Crminal Minds” as well?

    No more ANTM for you?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


