um, you can say no now. now!

If you recall, yesterday I eluded to the fact that the pregnancy rumors have started again at youth group.

Not really rumors, and really they kind of ended the same night, but the drama makes for a good story.

The topic of my being pregnant came about when “R” said, “I hear hives are a sign of pregnancy”. I got a chuckle out of it as I always do, mainly because there weren’t as many people around to hear it.

Then “R” decided to pull one of the kids aside and ask them “If I told you that fancythis was pregnant, would you believe me?” His reason for asking this was to prove that he’s not particularly believable in instances like that, and we were all expecting this teen to pick up on the humor. She didn’t.

“Stand up.” she said

So I stood, and she stared at me, long and hard.

“Do I look pregnant?!” I was panic stricken at this point, as I’m sure you can imagine.

Instead of answering she just looked harder. It was obvious that in her mind, she was stuck between a rock and a hard place and quite unsure of how to answer the question.

“Say no! Say no! Say no!” I yelled

“The point of this wasn’t for you to look at her, but just to see If I told you that she was pregnant, whether or not you would believe me.” R was trying to save me at this point, I believe.

She still didn’t get it.

“Are you?” she asked

UUUUGGGGHHHH.

“NO!”

“That’s not the point, would you believe me if I told you?!”

I think this is the moment when she got it, or she at least realized that I would have had a nervous breakdown had she said that she thought I was pregnant.

“No.” she murmured

We ended it there. No more confusion for anyone involved. Thank goodness.

Later that evening:

“Hey, fancythis, are you pregnant?”

“No L, I’m not, I can assure you.”

 Maybe I should spend more time at the gym.

3 Responses to “um, you can say no now. now!”


  1. 1 lifelemons May 3, 2007 at 8:07 am

    These people are obviously wanting to see little fancythis’ running around!

    You look fine, not fat, not pregnant. You are perfect!

  2. 2 DDTM May 3, 2007 at 9:24 am

    Um….”alluded”, not “eluded”. Just sayin’. Unless you are trying to flee these terrible rumors.

    Also, TT joined in too – and she’s related to you!

    I do not want little fancythis’s – I’d prefer to see small tank commanders. :) :)

  3. 3 R. May 3, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    I think the mistake was picking L. as the teen to make the point. Don’t hang your self image on that one.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


