i just love him

Last night this “hive”* thing came to a head.

 Lets start from the beginning though, shall we?

Yesterday, I went to help my Aunt Ronda finish up some of her spring cleaning. (why, I’m not exactly sure, the woman’s home is spotless. Perhaps these are traits of my mother and all of her sisters) Since her children are allergy royalty, Aunt Ronda has a stash of just about every over-the-counter and perscription allergy medication known to man. Since the “hives” had kicked into full gear that morning I needed something to alleviate the itchiness. Anything.

So she gave me Sudafed sinus and allergy.

It worked like a charm. The “hives” went away and for the rest of the day I was just pleased as punch at my new allergy-freeness. Usually, just before I go to bed, they kick in again, letting me know that it Benedryl time. They didn’t last night! Horray!

Fast forward to 2:00 this morning.

They came back with a vengance. The worst they’ve ever been, and this time they didn’t just itch, they hurt, with a kind of hurtful-itchiness that only “hives” can produce. I should also mention that they were everywhere except for my face. (God must know that that would have just been the last straw, I gotta preserve my pretty you know)

What did I do? What every other red-blooded American woman would do.

I cried. And scratched. And groaned. And cried some more.

I guess during all of this, husband woke up and realized what was going on. Being the darling husband that he is, he offered to go to the store and pick up some meds for me.

By the way, I’m the unemployed one, he had to be up this morning by 5:00.

After more drama and tears, I finally agreed to let him run out for me (I wanted him to get his sleep, see) and pick up some Benedryl and the stuff my Aunt Ronda gave to me. While he was away I changed the sheets, took a shower and put Bengay all over because it tingles and since I was given strict instructions not to sctratch, the tingle was the best I could do for myself.

Well, my knight in shining armor returned at 3 am with my drugs and shortly after taking them, I drifted off to dreamland.

Ain’t he the sweetest? I figure it was also good practice for midnight cravings during pregnancy. A two-for-one deal!

*I put them in quotes because I feel that they are really satanic bumps trying to overtake my body.

3 Responses to “i just love him”


  1. 1 lifelemons April 27, 2007 at 11:55 am

    You poor thing! Hives are awful…I am not sure this will be going away anytime soon! If it keeps up please call the doctor!

  2. 2 collegegirl April 27, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    Oh there is nothing worse. The worst days of my life were spent avoiding itching my poison ivy.

  3. 3 Thinking Out Loud April 27, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Awww, what a sweetheart! I’m so glad they didn’t get on your face. I refused to leave the house when they got on mine and it took two days to heal. Have you noticed anything that you aren’t normally around during the rest of the year that this time brings into your life? Hives are so hard to figure out.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


