and then there was a book review

I just finished reading The Reading Group by Elizabeth Noble.

I loved it!

The author is British, so I had a fun time of getting used to “new” words like ‘bollocks!’ and ‘knickers’ and I had the darnedest time figuring out what a ‘pram’ was.

All in all, I was sad to finish the book, which is always a good sign. I felt like I was friends with the characters, which I think is evidence of good character development, and I actually cared about the different happenings in their lives.

I won’t lie, in the beginning I had a difficult time because there seemed to be so many characters, but eventually, it all just became easy to read, like it was natural to follow 6 different story lines.

 The basic premise is that these 5 women start a reading group and the books they’re reading seem to mirror the goings-on in their everyday lives. It was actually quite interesting.

I found that in the beginning I was interested only in one or two of the characters, but toward the early-middle of the book, I was captivated by them all!

 Definitely a good read. I’d recommend it to anyone (who is a woman of course)!

5 Responses to “and then there was a book review”


  1. 1 lifelemons April 23, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Aren’t you glad I returned that to you! I will have to read this book, I was slightly tempted when it was sitting in the back of my car!

  2. 2 Vanessa April 23, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    HOla… so, I’m curious… any talk of 15 month deployments? I hope not. I’m hoping it’s only going to affect people for now… or maybe it goes away. It stinks. Hope you’re doing well!

  3. 3 girlymama April 23, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    sounds like one i read called “Jane Austen Book Club.”

    I like complicated stories about a bunch of people – I’ll have to try it!

  4. 4 CJ April 24, 2007 at 7:06 am

    You should try “Reading Lolita in Tehran” – kind of a similar premise, its a memior of a woman teaching classic english novels to Iranian women during the revolution. Amazing book.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


