the most irresponsible thing i’ve ever done; and i kinda like it

I. Quit. My. Job.

Yes, this one.

You know, the one I just started officially Monday? The one I was in training for all last week. The training that cost them $550.

I quit.

I feel strangely ok with it though. Almost happy. Liberated, even.

I feel like, well, naughty.

I’ve never done anything like this in my entire life. I started working straight out of highschool at the age of 17, and I’ve been going ever since. I never went to college and partied or skipped class or goofed around. What, you’re offended by that college goer? Quit lying to yourself, you know that’s what college was/is about for you.

I’ve always been the responsible one, the reliable one, the mature one. But today, that all went flying right out of the window.

Y’see, what I’ve discovered about the owners of the business I worked for is that they don’t really know how to run a business. The husband tells me one thing, the wife says another and I’m not quite sure who I should listen to, since they each told me to listen to the other. Meanwhile, I’m supposed to reconcile all of their financial mess since the start of there business last May! Did I also mention that I’m also supposed to get business for them as well as keep in contact with their previous customers and do that to-do list of 12 different things that I’ve never even been trained do that the wife sent to me this morning and wants done by end of business today, one of which was actually supposed to be completed yesterday?! Hm?!

The straw that broke the camel’s back (as if what I’ve already mentioned isn’t enough to break it) came this morning when the owner came in at 8:30 am, which was actually the time he was supposed to be leaving to go do an estimate on someone’s home. (We’re supposed to be in at 8:00 am every day) He was of course in a rush and in a bad mood, and while he was flipping through the notes on his computer and discovered that the person (his wife) who had booked the estimate had booked him to estimate the inside and outside of this person’s home. This is apparently against procedure because that takes longer and  so interiors and exteriors are supposed to be booked separately. But I didn’t book this, I wasn’t even working for him when it was booked. That must have slipped his mind because this is what I heard next:

“You know, you really need to pay closer attention to things like this.”

“Um, like what?”

“This person wants the interior and exterior done. That needs to be on two separate proposals. It’s in the notes though, and you need to make sure that you pay attention to things like this.”

“Um, ok.”

“Now, something that I thought would only take me an hour is actually going to take four hours, and that’s a scheduling conflict, but we’ll go over it when I get back, I don’t have time now.”

Cue door slam.

First, I would like to point out that this wasn’t going to be a scheduling conflict for him today as he only has 2 estimates on his schedule, the morning one he was rushing off to and the other one that wasn’t until 5 pm, so where the scheduling conflict is, I’ll never know.

Second, um, I’m sorry buddy, but I’m not a child, nor am I a dog or anything else that you boss around, so I think that maybe your tone was a tad bit inappropriate. That really isn’t the way you should treat someone who, for all intents and purposes, would be the backbone of your company.

Thirdly, (is that even a word?) I DID NOT BOOK THAT FREAKING ESTIMATE, YOU’RE WIFE DID!!!!!!

Ahem.

So, after 2 teary-eyed phone calls, one to husband, and one to best friend which oddly enough ended in laughter, I took a piece of paper and wrote my resignation to him.

I refuse to be treated like that and I think that maybe he should go take some business courses before he runs his into the ground.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some soap operas to watch. Oh, and laundry to do, but for that, there’s always tomorrow! 

4 Responses to “the most irresponsible thing i’ve ever done; and i kinda like it”


  1. 1 girlymama March 14, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    GOOD CALL!!! I’M SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!

    I had a bad feeling about that job anyway. But that quitting took guts. Well done.

  2. 2 pinkrawkstar March 14, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    HAHAHAHA! That’s AWESOME! Way to stand up for yourself and not take his crap. Did you just leave the note and get outta there while he was off on his appointment?

  3. 3 fancythis March 14, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Thanks for the support ladies.
    And Rawkstar, the answer to your question is: YES!
    I know. I’m awesome!

  4. 4 mamadoggylove March 14, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    GOOD FOR YOU! You don’t need that. I can’t stand when people are so ignorant. What a smart decision to get out of there when you did.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


