to the inventor of the t-shirt quilt, on behalf of all married women everywhere: thank you

When I met my husband he was just about as fashion-conscience as every other red-blooded, straight, non-metro-sexual, college guy out there. Which is to say, not much. Still isn’t.

His “outfits” (this word is actually one I’m strictly prohibited from using in regards to his attire because “men don’t wear outfits”, but it’s my blog, so there) consisted of the following:

-T-shirt; whether it be labeled with his university name or just a “great” thriftstore find

-Khakis; they’re comfy

-Birkenstocks; albeit it old beat up ones that he still owns, and wore all the time, regardless of the weather conditions.

Now. I don’t know about you other ladies, but I prefer a man who has a teeny-tiny-bit more fashion sense than this. I also understand that fashion sense is something guys either have or they don’t. They are malleable, however, and this is where we women-folk come in.

I had experience with “dressing men” to my liking prior to my husband. More specifically, my brother.

Whatever I found attractive in the menswear of the time, I would usually influence my brother into wearing. I did make some fashion faux-pas throughout the years, but for the most part, my brother always dressed very nicely, with my help of course, and he still does now, without my help. (for the most part)

I thought that my husband would be just as easy to “handle”, but I was wrong. He liked those darn t-shirts. Loved them in fact, and it made dressing him my way quite difficult.

Fast forward 3 years. We’re married now, and I pretty much have total control over his wardrobe. This is my right as his wife (I like to think) and the best thing for both of us because I don’t have to worry about him donning t-shirts and khakis and he doesn’t really have to think about what to wear because it’s pretty much laid out for him.

I still had nightmares about the t-shirts though. They were consuming my thoughts. What if one day, out of force of habit he reverted back to his old ways. Whatever would I do?!

Enter Mother-In-Law and her fabulous t-shirt quilt idea. She’s made these quilts for husband’s older siblings and now it’s his turn. She views it as a scrapbook of his highschool/college years, I view it as the ultimate assurance that he will never again wear any of those horrid t-shirts. Muwahahahahahaha.

And just in case you think I’m some sort of terrible controlling person, a brief synopsis of the t-shirts he was wearing are as follows:

– A ‘Simpsons’ t-shirt showing the “evolution” of Homer with the word ‘Homer-sapian” underneath

– 80 gajillion Ranger challenge t-shirts with interesting logos on the back

– A red t-shirt he got from the thriftstore with the word ‘Retirement’ on the front

– One with a picture of a boxing kangaroo on the front

– One that said Got Gas? on the front and had Crude and the number 8 on the back

I could go on and on, but you get the point, right? You can sympathize with me I’m sure.

But also rejoice in the knowledge that he can NEVER WEAR THEM AGAIN!!!!!

9 Responses to “to the inventor of the t-shirt quilt, on behalf of all married women everywhere: thank you”


  1. 1 mamadoggylove February 12, 2007 at 11:39 am

    Men and fashion… the words do not belong in the same sentence! Good for you for being pro-active!

    When my husband and I were moving from our old apartment into our house, while my husband was at work, my mom and I threw away – literally – about old 30 shirts of his.

    He never knew. :)

  2. 2 mamadoggylove February 12, 2007 at 11:39 am

    *Make that 30 old shirts of his!

  3. 3 fancythis February 12, 2007 at 11:50 am

    thanks, and good for YOU, 30 shirts is a lot!

  4. 4 lifelemons February 12, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    I am just glad the Tom gets dressed!

  5. 6 girlymama February 12, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    god bless the t-shirt quilt.

    p.s.
    sorry, but i always thought that ‘retirement’ one was hilarious!

  6. 7 fancythis February 12, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    it is funny, but thank God we finally retired it! haha

  7. 8 pinkrawkstar February 12, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    HAHAHAHA! Awesome! Glad you found a good solution to the t-shirt problem. Not to open a new can of worms, but what are you going to do if he insists on putting the quilt on your bed?? :-)

  8. 9 fancythis February 13, 2007 at 9:42 am

    rawkstar you’re funny….I will now have nightmares about that!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


