blue-man’s disease

“Are you ok, babe?” I asked.

When I looked at my husband initially he just looked really drained. Exhausted, like he’d been working in the coal mines all day or something.

“I dunno” he replied “I do feel kind of weird.”

“Oh my goodness, is your face (insert long pause in disbelief here) blue?!”

“Blue? Why would it be…..you know, I think it is.”

Upon further inspection we discovered that my husband’s face was in fact blue. Blue! You know, one of the primary colors?

In typical me fashion, I panicked and strongly suggested (you can interpret this whichever way you please) that he immediately go to the emergency room. Since, to me, this qualified as an emergency. Normal human beings are not blue, you know.

In typical husband fashion, he suggested that we calm down and not panic about this, it could be something little.

So what did I do? I did what any self-respecting, mature, adult would do; I called my mom.

“He’s blue?” 

“Yes mom, blue. Don’t you think he should go to the emergency room?”

“Well, no. Why don’t you call your Dr. first and see what she says.”

Oh. Right. The voice of reason speaks. I could have thought of that.

“He’s blue?”

“Yes, it’s just around his eyes, a little on his forehead, and on his cheekbones. Do you know what it could be?”

After answering 80,000,000,000,000,000,000 questions and confirming his very minor symptoms, she says to me:

“I’m completely stumped. If it gets worse or he gets a fever or faints or something, I would suggest you go to the emergency room, other than that I would just ride it out and see how he’s feeling tomorrow morning.”

Yeah, because I can sleep while my husband is on the verge of death.

“Alright then, we’ll keep you posted.” Click

Shortly thereafter, he went to take a shower, he thought it would make him feel better. Surprisingly, after he emerged from the shower, he wasn’t as blue anymore.

“I think maybe, I was just cold, it is freezing in here, you know.”

“I’m sure being cold wouldn’t make you turn blue.”

“Yuh-huh, you know those extreme mountain-climbers? They turn blue all the time from the cold.”

“Ok, well whatever.”

After an hour or two:

“Hey babe, can you fix my dinner plate, I do have blue-man’s disease and all; I could die.”

3 Responses to “blue-man’s disease”


  1. 2 DDTM January 24, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    Drama for LLA = SUPER BAD EMERGENCY CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Drama for the man = meh.

  2. 3 girlymama January 24, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    yup. our husbands are SOOOO brothers. just like them to milk it to get out of doing stuff.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


