becoming domesticated

You know, this wife stuff is hard work.

I mean, there’s a lot of pressure involved in cooking a good, healthy meal.

I guess I just assumed that when I got married the cooking thing would just happen for me. My mom’s a freakin’ awesome cook, so why not me?

Thing is, my mom had a lot of practice. As the only responsible older sister (she has one sister older than her who was worthless) with parents who worked full-time, my mom, at a very young age, took over a lot of the duties that would have otherwise been her mother’s. So she was cooking full meals for 7 people long before she ever got married. Funny, she ended up having 5 kids and eventually cooking for 7 people again. Anyway.

Because my mom is the awesome [super]woman she is, I never really had to worry about cooking; she did it. I knew the basics:

-spaghetti and meatballs/sauce

-grilled cheese with soup

-salad

-maccaroni and cheese

-most vegetables

You get it. But I never cooked a blow-you-away meal. I never had to. Until I got married. Now it’s all, I have to cook and clean and do laundry and where the heck is my mom she would do this for me if she were here! Take a deap breath.

So I got this Rachael Ray cookbook as a shower gift. To be perfectly honest, I’m not able to find much that my hubby or I really like from her. I mean, I love watching her, she’s so entertaining! The fact of the matter is that she over-herbs and onions everything. I realize I can just cut back on that stuff, but even still it’s just not our style.

You can imagine then, what our grocery shopping trips looked like:

Me, having a nervous breakdown because I don’t know what to cook for dinner for the next 2 weeks and if I don’t know what to cook, how in the world can we go shopping, what will we go shopping for?! And oh, I’m just so terrible at this, what made me think I could get married in the first place?!

Husband, sitting in awe over the way the female mind works, and trying desperately to fix the situation to make me feel better. Ain’t he sweet?

Fast-forward to my birthday (yes, that cycle was going on for 3 months!) when my SIL gives me a binder filled with good recipes and, AND the grocery list to match it! I’m saved!

We used it for the first time on Monday night, and not only was it SO much easier to set up a list with, BUT! somehow our grocery bill was cheaper then it’s ever been! And we hadn’t been grocery shopping in a while.

Last night, I made a honey-baked chicken recipe that she gave me with my own little tweaks, served over white rice with asparagus on the side, and it was a hit, a hit I tell you!

My husband actually commented more than once on the meal’s goodness, which is something he’s only done with one other recipe I’ve cooked, and I’m tellin’ ya man, I almost cried!

It feels good, being successful and all at this wifely stuff.

8 Responses to “becoming domesticated”


  1. 1 girlymama January 10, 2007 at 11:26 am

    YAYYYYY!!! You go, Superwife!!!

    p.s. that is one of your husband’s brothers favorite meals as well. i think their mom used to make somethign similiar, but rumor has it that our recipe is better. hee hee.

  2. 2 fancythis January 10, 2007 at 11:28 am

    yeah, hubs mentioned “my mom used to make something like this…..” but he DID seem a little more enthusiastic about this one ;)

  3. 3 lifelemons January 10, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    I must have recipe! Immediately I say!

  4. 4 Lola January 10, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    I was at the hair salon today, eating a sandwich I had picked up on the fly when the hairdresser asked me if I ever cooked… I had to be honest and say no, I don’t really know how! Perhaps I need to borrow that book and learn a few recipes of my own… Well done you for getting to grips.

    Lola x

  5. 5 fancythis January 10, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    Lola,
    just go to foodnetwork.com!!! they have some great recipes there. Some of my favorites are Paula Dean, Giada DeLaurentis and Ina Garten

  6. 7 Lola January 10, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    On my way now. Thanks for the tip!

    Lola x

  7. 8 DDTM January 12, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Asparagus is evil! EVIL!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


