elevator etiquette

1. Ladies first. No exceptions. And why just stop at elevators? This little rule extends so much further than just the elevator. Well, it should anyway.

2. Make room. The weight capacity of most elevators is 3,000 lbs. I know you enjoy 3 feet of personal space; we all do, but sometimes it just isn’t realistic. So when you see someone stepping on my toes because I couldn’t move back because you wouldn’t make room, make room!

3. Tone down your cologne/perfume. I know you’re just SO excited to smell good, but I would like to suggest, if I may, that it isn’t necessary to spray on half of the bottle before you come to work.

4. No staring. It totally creeps people out. If you like someones shoes/purse/suit/briefcase/face, say something, it’ll probably get you further anyway.

5. Those who are exiting have the right of way. I know you’re anxious to hop on the elevator, but really, it’s not nice to knock the person who’s already on there out of the way,  just so you can get on.

If you can not abide by these little tips, take the stairs.

Update: 6. If I’m walking toward the elevator and you see me coming, and what’s more I actually go out of my way to ask you to hold it, and you don’t, that’s rude. So, hold the elevator if someone’s coming up to it.

4 Responses to “elevator etiquette”


  1. 2 lifelemons January 4, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Man, am I glad I work on the first floor!

  2. 3 Lola January 6, 2007 at 4:58 am

    There s a wonderful piece of writing about elavator ettiquette here:

    Fatty Fatty Two by Four

    Muchos apologies if the html doesn’t work… try and visit the link listed there anyway, it’s bloody brilliant.

    Lola x

  3. 4 The Girl Who January 6, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    It’s got to be the whistling. No, the scenery with the toiletflush! No, the whistling!

    Thanks for the emails, I really appreciated them.

    M


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


