the best things in life really cost money

In all of my snot-nosed coughing-ness the other day I neglected to post about what a wonderful wife I am.

You’ve heard about the PS3, right? You know, the gaming system that’s gotten everyone’s panties in a bunch? With its fabulous wireless controllers, 60 GB memory and Blu ray? I must admit that when the husband mentioned his desire for this machine in passing a couple of months ago, I chuckled on the inside.

What person in their right mind would spend that kind of money on a video game system? Money that would ordinarily pay the rent or the electricity and not take you away from the finer things in life, like human interaction?

Then, November hit and just like the the Tickle-Me-Elmo craze, I was sucked in. I just had to get one of those for my husband. What kind of wife would I be otherwise? Plus, this is our first Christmas, it won’t kill us to go a little overboard, right? (This, by the way, is in complete conflict with what our pre-marital counselors said. Their advice was to not go overboard on our first Christmas, but what fun is that?)

Anyway, I found myself searching constantly. I scoured sites like eBay and Best Buy in search for the illusive PS3. All to no avail of course, I mean, on eBay these things were going for upwards of $2,000.  My last name isn’t Gates, ya dig?

I resigned myself to the fact that I clearly wasn’t going to receive the Best Wife In the World award this Christmas, and went about my Christmas shopping.

Then: Jackpot.

On Thursday, December 21st our local Best Buy got a shipment in of about 60 (sixty!) of said gaming system and, so said my informant, (Hi Matt!) there were still some left in the store since they hadn’t advertised that they were getting them in.

Score!

I high-tailed it up to Best Buy all while talking to my mother, who was there to pick one up for my brothers, on the phone.

Well, 2 heart-attacks, 4 red lights, a nervous breakdown, and $700 worth of Best Buy credit card debt later, I had the coveted PS3 in my very own hands. I’ll admit, I almost didn’t know what to do with it, and the thought of selling it on eBay crossed my mind several times on the way out to the car. They are still going for around $1,200 you know.

Anyway, Christmas morning came and it was like that scene from “A Christmas Story” when Ralphie opens up his Red Ryder B-B Gun.

“How did you get this?” he asked

“Eh, I slept with a guy.”

2 Responses to “the best things in life really cost money”


  1. 1 girlymama January 2, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    yeah – way to make the rest of us look bad, there, Superwife

    ;-)

    p.s.
    apparently we have to come visit you to, uh, have some family time, according to the Husband.

  2. 2 fancythis January 3, 2007 at 8:22 am

    hehe, how appropriate. Looks like you and I will just have to take a shopping trip while they spend their “family time” together ;)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


