i wish we could hang out, it’s my birthday

Today, is my birthday. I’m 22. Not really a milestone, but, I feel, worth mentioning nonetheless.

It kind of sucks to have a birthday so close to Christmas. When I was a kid, my parents were really good about showing me that my birthday was special in its own right, and always made sure to celebrate it separately. The older I got, the more I noticed that people would give me “joint” birthday/Christmas presents, and the magic of that once special day slowly became a distant memory. Nevermind that my friends always received two separate gifts from me.

This year really isn’t different. While I am celebrating my birthday this Friday with two very special friends, (who always remember that Christmas isn’t the same holiday as my birthday)  it seems like the actual day itself is being lost in the shuffle of the holiday season. My husband offered dinner and a movie tonight, but I declined because of all of the “stuff” that I must get done before this weekend. I’m sure that those of you with children are staring aghast at your screen, but I’m serious.

I have laundry to fold, decorations to put up, and presents to wrap. Did I mention I’m not actually finished shopping yet? Plus I have a hair appointment tomorrow. Needless to say my week is busy and I don’t even have kids. God help me when I do.

Anyway, I just thought I’d do some complaining. I’m sure that’s what you all wanted to read anyway!

3 Responses to “i wish we could hang out, it’s my birthday”


  1. 1 dcrmom December 19, 2006 at 1:45 pm

    Cool! New format!! Just wanted to say, with Caroline’s birthday on Christmas Eve, any advice you have on how to keep it special is welcome!! And HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  2. 2 fancythis December 19, 2006 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks for the B-day wishes!!!
    Actually this is quite a quandry in our family as there are 4, yes F-O-U-R, birthdays in December on my mom’s side and 3 are dangerously close to Christmas. I’m sure you and your hubby don’t really have a hard time keeping it special, she’s your child after all, but OTHER people are the ones with the problem recognizing the specialness of “our” Christmas birthdays.
    I would say to keep the party as far away from Christmas that you can. That way other kids can actually make it to the party!

  3. 3 girlymama December 19, 2006 at 2:52 pm

    happy birthday, Grouch! ;-)

    maybe you should compromise — tell hubby you want your fav take-out (no cooking!) and then wrap your presents in front of a movie of YOUR choosing!!

    p.s.
    i don’t think you’re crazy because you’re busy before you have kids. i remember it being busy. very busy, actually. i think i just had more sleep :-)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


