Why Do You Do It THAT Way?

When I was younger I used to pride myself on being just like dad.

Dad liked the Pittsburgh Steelers? Me too. Dad liked to nap on the floor? Me too. Dad has a very “German nose”? Me too.

I never wanted to be like mom. Mom made me clean my room, among other things. My mom is famous for being a neat freak, especially when we would have company.  And what do you think she would say to guests upon arrival to our home after we (the kids) spent the better part of the morning cleaning the place? “Oh, please excuse the mess.” Yeah, like that.

A couple of weeks ago, the in-laws came over for dinner and my MIL was asking me if my dishwasher worked well. We started talking about dishwashers and the like when I started loading mine.

I would rinse the plate/cup/fork/knife off and then toss it in the dishwasher.

“Are you rinsing the dishes right before you put them in the dishwasher?” MIL asked

“Yeah” I replied cautiously

“Why do you do it THAT way? she asked

“Because that’s how my mom does it.” I answered

So much for being different.

3 Responses to “Why Do You Do It THAT Way?”


  1. 1 girlymama December 6, 2006 at 3:39 pm

    MIL is sooooo subtle, is she not?

    p.s.
    i do that too. b/c that’s what my mom does.

  2. 2 lifelemons December 7, 2006 at 10:33 am

    Unfortunately I take after my dad with this one. Mom rinses dad doesn’t.


  1. 1 are you kidding me?! « sunny side of life Trackback on December 20, 2006 at 9:13 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


