What Will They Think of Next?

My brother-in-law, being the very intelligent, business savvy engineer that he is thought of this brilliant idea to create a website in which you can start your own online wishlist so as to answer one of life’s hardest questions: What do you want for Christmas?

Not only did he figure that it would be a huge money-maker, (c’mon, who doesn’t want a little extra cash?) but the website itself would be a big time-saver. Plus! It would prevent answering the same question to 8,000 different people and also prevent double gifting.

Great idea, right? I thought so too, and what with my obsession for Christmas, I began giving it a lot of thought lately as well. I had all of these really neat ideas that I was going to share with him because of course, I was going to try to get my grubby little hands on some of the profit from this website, and I was super-excited to see them to share all of the details.

So yesterday, on a whim and out of curiosity, I decided to browse the web, just to make sure nothing like that already existed.

It does.

Ever heard of www.wishlist.com? Well, it exists, and, I would like to point out that they stole* all of my really good ideas!!! Infuriating!

So after I got over my initial anger and sadness due to the fact that I wouldn’t be making millions, I floated around and discovered that they have a pretty decent setup there. Unlike on bridal and baby registries, you cannot see what’s been purchased for you, so that makes it really nice for the people who are doing the buying. You can also choose whether or not to make your wishlist public, a neat feature if you don’t want random people purchasing Christmas/Birthday/Hanukkah/Whatever – gifts for you. I don’t see why not, but, your choice!

So in spite of the fact that I was still a little bitter, I set up a wishlist on the site. And also in spite of the fact that I’m still a little bitter, I think you should check the site out anyway. I mean, I wouldn’t want you to have to answer life’s hardest question more than once this season.

*They did not actually steal my ideas, I’m just being dramatic!

1 Response to “What Will They Think of Next?”


  1. 1 Vanessa November 17, 2006 at 10:26 am

    I would have mine be public… I don’t mind strangers buying me things. :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


