Santa Claus and Other Tales

With Christmas just around the corner (Thanksgiving? What’s that?!) I can’t help but reminisce. I had some great memories of Christmas with my family, in spite of the fact that we weren’t the most wealthy family around.

This, I of course attribute to the fact that we understood the true meaning of Christmas; the celebration of the birth of Christ. This isn’t to say that we weren’t given presents and the like, we were, we just understood that the giving of gifts was symbolic of the gift we received that Christmas morning so many years ago.

There is one bit of scandal, though; we believed in Santa Claus. Close your mouths, I know its shocking. Surprisingly, I turned out to be relatively normal, andI still understand why we celebrate Christmas. It didn’t like, get lost in the shuffle of reindeer and elves or anything.

My baby brother was the last to stop believing and he did so at the oldest age of all of us; 11. It was sort of sad because it was almost acknowledging that we’d all grown up and that magical fairy-tail was long gone. We were kind of living vicariously through him, ya know?

So now I’m married and one day I’ll have children who I’ll have to like raise right and stuff. I already know the answer to the Santa Claus question for our family, but I was wondering. What are YOU passing on to your children? Do they or did they believe in Santa? If not, why? If so, why?

I’m just curious (and possibly searching for justification as to why my children CAN believe in Santa :)

3 Responses to “Santa Claus and Other Tales”


  1. 1 lifelemons November 16, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    My parents never let us believe in Santa. They didn’t want us to think they were also lying about Jesus and everything, so they just never acknowledged Santa. I plan on raising my kids the same. I am Anti-Santa!

  2. 2 Vanessa November 17, 2006 at 10:30 am

    Until I was 6, when my parents divorced, my family were Jehovah’s witnesses… so, I never heard of Santa until I was about 7… by then, it was too late to make me believe in that craziness. But, I think it’s important for kids to have an imagination. And, now that Matt and I attend Catholic services (and we were married in a Catholic Church), we’ll be able to teach them to real meaning of Christmas… and let them have their imagination.

  3. 3 dcrmom November 17, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    I’m kind of wishy washy about it. When my kids ask me point-blank if Santa is real, I tell them “no”. But I do kind of play along with the whole thing. I do tell them that the story of Jesus is real. Hubby and I both did the Santa thing as kids, and we’re not warped. And we believe in Jesus. So I don’t think you are gonna ruin your kids by doing the Santa thing. I just choose not to “lie” when they ask me outright.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


