I Am NOT Pregnant

I think I’m excited that youth group has started up again because now, I’ll have at least one story to tell every Saturday. Thrilling.

Last night at youth group, I was sitting out in the lobby of our Family Life Center when my brother Z came to chat with me. In the same general area was previously mentioned friend, R.

I was asking my brother if he would get a sub for me as that was what the church provided for the kids that night. I was explaining that I wanted pickles on it (I LOVE pickles), when R chirped in “What L, you want pickles and icecream?” Oh boy, I knew where this was going, and decided to attempt to stop it quickly. “No, R, I am NOT pregnant.”

“*Loud Gasp* L, you’re pregnant?!” shouts R, obviously trying to sabotage me.

I thought he wasn’t that loud, and he really wasn’t, so I’m assuming that there must have been a teen in the area when he said this because within 3 minutes a group of some of the girls I mentor were out in the lobby giggling and giddy asking me if it was true, am I really pregnant.

I should mention here that in my church news has the same travel speed as light, and this was BIG news.

So we tried as best as we could to stop this news from traveling any further and it seemed to work.

At the end of the night, some crack head gave both R and D (also previously mentioned) access to a microphone. R saw this as the perfect opportunity to set the record straight and said into the mic “Everyone, just so you know, L is NOT pregnant” then D chimes in “So, you mean she’s not knocked up?”

Uh-Oh. Knocked up isn’t the lovliest of terms to use in a church setting aroud Jr. Highers when their parents are there to pick them up. Because I know D and I know his fun sense of humor, I was totally NOT upset or anything. Also, because I know how much trouble lies ahead of him, I’m not going to pick on him here. But it definitely made for an interesting evening.

Hopefully next week is as equally eventful as the past 2 have been. It’s just the beginning of youth group season though, so who knows what we’re in for. Only time will tell.

2 Responses to “I Am NOT Pregnant”


  1. 1 lifelemons September 25, 2006 at 1:21 pm

    I am going to need the gossip to stop! What is wrong with these guys, I hope this rumor isn’t hanging around next week! ;-)

  2. 2 fancythis September 25, 2006 at 1:26 pm

    I know!!!! I wasn’t in church yesterday to see if it’s still out there, so I’ll have to find out.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


