I’m Back…Or Something

I can hardly believe it’s over, but it is. Everything leading up to the wedding day was just one big chaotic circus and yet, it almost seems as though it was all worth it.

Needless to say, I had a fantastic time and while that doesn’t truly capture the emotions of that wonderful day, I hope those of you that are married or have been, or even are approaching the “BIG” day can appreciate what I mean.

Of course, as would be my “luck”, hurricane Ernesto was right at my doorstep to greet me the day of the wedding. It truly was a shame because the reception venue that I chose has the most majestic gardens and I am still sad that my guests weren’t able to mingle amongst God’s wonderful creation. Oh well.

The food was great, the cake was good (at least I think it was, the only piece I had was the one L put in my mouth!) and I tried to do all the little things that family and friends told me to do in order to remember the day. “Make sure to touch your dress. I mean REALLY feel it.” One aunt said. “Just stop and pay attention to everything that’s going on around you.” Said another. Well, I did. Enough, I hope, to truly imprint the memory of that day in my mind.

Now, here I sit in our new apartment, surrounded by all of my stuff in boxes and bags and totes, and am truly amazed at the fact that I have taken my next big life step. Marriage. It’s so odd. I’m married. Me. It’s seems so big, so important. It will truly be the grace of God and TONS of hard work on our part that makes this union work.

We’re so different, L and I, and yet, that’s what makes us tick. I like spending money, he likes saving it. I like things pristine clean, he can stand a little clutter. He’s very athletic and active, I’m not so inclined, but maybe watching sports counts? One thing we do know is that we love each other, we’ve enjoyed marriage so far and we are more than willing to do the work necessary to keep things going.

Unless of course I discover that he has some goofy affinity for The Simpsons, then, I don’t know if I’ll be so committed. ;)

Update: Pictures have been requested! So I’ll give in. For one, I had THE BEST photographer of all time. Visit his site. If you click on “weddings” you’ll see a couple pictures from my wedding. Actually, the very first one is our first dance! If you go onto his blog, you can see a slideshow of some pictures from my wedding if you scroll down a little bit. Hint: Our names are that of a VERY famous daytime-tv couple.

5 Responses to “I’m Back…Or Something”


  1. 1 dcrmom September 12, 2006 at 9:36 pm

    You could have described Hubby and me. It can work! :-) Congratulations! I thought of you in all that rain. Girlymamma said it was lovely and everything came off without a hitch. I just asked her about you this morning! Do we get to see some pictures??? Pretty pleeeeeeeease???

  2. 2 girlymama September 13, 2006 at 7:48 am

    more pictures more pictures!! Can we order pictures from the photographer, since my borther took like 6, and they weren’t all that great?

    WELCOME BACK!!

  3. 3 dcrmom September 13, 2006 at 11:17 am

    Those are utterly gorgeous!

  4. 4 Amy September 14, 2006 at 6:16 pm

    dear laura
    i am deeply sad i did not make it to the wedding:( stupid owu. honestly. but, i am thinking about flying out to philly for my fall break since- oh my gosh- i get a day off!!!! perhaps we shall have a shopping extravaganza???

  5. 5 fancythis September 15, 2006 at 8:37 am

    OOHHH!!!!! Shopping extravaganza!!!! Amy speaks my language!!! Sounds like fun, hopefully the husband won’t be opposed…..


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


