And The Thunder Rolls

While I’m sure very few will understand my reference to Garth Brooks in the title, it is most fitting for a couple of reasons:

1. It looks like rain. For the rest of the week, up until and possibly including my wedding day. Though a horticulturist to some extent, and even though I know about all of the wonderful things the rain can do…. BOO! Not on my wedding day! Who wants that?”They” (whoever “they” really are) say that it’s good luck to have rain on your wedding day. I think they say that because they’re trying, in a very pathetic manner, to say “wow, it really sucks that it would rain on someone’s wedding day, we’ll make this old wive’s tale up to try and take the focus off of the fact that they can’t take pictures outside, it’ll be dark and dreary, and their dress could get ruined.” But you know, good luck.

2. Have you been reading my blog? Today is THE day. The day of torture. The day, of waxing. Cue scary music, now. While on one hand, I’m very excited to be hair-free in just 6 hours, it’s kind of intimidating knowing that someone is going to have their hands in a place that only my future husband and OB/GYN will be. *Shiver* Plus, THE PAIN! It was semi-encouraging to talk to the receptionist at the salon. She called me yesterday to “confirm my appointment” (read: make sure I wasn’t chickening out). Apparently, it’s not uncommon to desire some sort of sedative before going under the waxing stick. I.E. alcohol. She informed me that as soon as I come in that I’m more than welcome to a glass of wine. Gee, thanks. Is that my parting gift? Along with the redness and swelling, I’m sure.

 Anyway, this’ll probably be my last post for a while. I’m going to be out of my mind with craziness over the next couple of days, although I’m sure my sister-in-law’s insanity can certainly rival mine. Stay cool everyone, and don’t forget about me while I’m gone!

4 Responses to “And The Thunder Rolls”


  1. 1 ash August 30, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    Best of luck with the wedding. Let yourself enjoy it though. I found a couple of kalua white russians just enough to calm my nerves before I walked down that freakin’ long aisle (it was so much shorter during rehersal?).

  2. 2 girlymama August 30, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!

    Can’t wait to hear the whole detailed waxing-drama tonight ;-)

  3. 3 dcrmom September 3, 2006 at 2:01 am

    Hope it all turned out well. And that you stayed dry. What a soggy day for a wedding. (sigh)

  4. 4 occasionalcigs September 7, 2006 at 10:03 am

    ah, those white russians certainly did help, ash! (and i wasn’t even the one getting hitched…)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


