Rita’s Water Ice and the Ultimate Procrastinator

Being the “teacher’s pet” definitely has it’s perks. I know this because I have been, or have shared the title with only 1 or 2 other people in my life. (H and E, obviously I’m talking about you!)

This can also apply in the workplace. Especially if there is a male involved as we all know how their thinking goes. One of the main people helping (kicking and screaming) with this project I’m involved in at work is M. M loves me because I totally make him look good. That is to say that I do the work and he gets most of the credit. I am not bitter about this as M has to babysit the temps we’ve taken on to assist with this project. These temps, as I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, collectively have the IQ of an ice cube, so you can imagine how fun his job is.

Anyway, in order to motivate the temps to do the job that they were hired to do, M has come up with a couple of different schemes. He’s offered prizes and last Friday they even got an ice cream bar (which I willingly participated in), because as we all know, grown adults deserve prizes in the real world.

Today, M’s bright idea was to offer Rita’s Water Ice. SCORE! Problem though, M can’t go pick it up because if he leaves the kids alone for more than 5 minutes, chaos will inevitably ensue. The project lead can’t pick it up because she has a conference call. So, who will have to do it? ME! DOUBLE SCORE! The awesome part is that this place is a half hour from where I work so that means I’ll be gone for an hour in addition to my hour lunch. Add in the fact that my manager rocks and lets me leave an hour early every Friday and I love to avoid work at all costs and they’ve got one happy lady on their staff.

It’s a shame that we merged and the New Company sucks, because at this rate, I’d be willing to work here forever. Or at least until I give birth to more procrastinators, whichever comes first.

2 Responses to “Rita’s Water Ice and the Ultimate Procrastinator”


  1. 1 crazy thoughts August 20, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    so in 2 weeks ill get to see you walk down dressed all pretty and such:) im really excited- its been too long, like since thanksgiving, since i;ve seen you!!!


  1. 1 Time Warp! « sunny side of life Trackback on September 20, 2006 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


