Half Up or Up?

I have had an, um, interesting time with some of my bridesmaids. Two in particular. Now while some may view me as somewhat of a bride-zilla, I would like to think that I’m just one of many women out there who have known what they wanted, as far as their wedding goes, since, like, the age of 6.

How I want my hair done has been an area of flexibility. At first, I though I wanted to wear my hair half up, like Jessica Simpson had at her wedding. (Bad omen?) I thought it would be really pretty on me. I shared this with some of my bridesmaids, and one of them shared with me that she would really like to wear her hair the same way. Instead of just saying “Hey, I would really like to be the only person to wear my hair like that.”, like a normal person, I just sat there and didn’t say anything. Thank God for H, who isn’t afraid to speak her mind (quite frequently) and informed this ill-intented bridesmaid that she probably shouldn’t wear her hair like that as the bride should at least look somewhat different from everyone else. After some whining, and a tiny bit of arguing, (yes, really) she seemingly gave in.

Shortly after that I went to my hairdresser for my routine trim and highlight and we tried out the Jessica hair. I wasn’t the biggest fan because my hair isn’t as long, AND my hair has this really bad habit of refusing to hold a curl, especially on humid days. So, nix the Jessica hair. We tried out this really cute doo called a chignon that looked absolutely superb and went really well with my gown. So we’re all set.

Just the other day my bridesmaids got together at my house to help put the favors together. (well, the ones that weren’t “sick”) The aformentioned selfish maid asks me how I’ve decided to do my hair. I tell her that I’m going for the chignon, that the other doo just didn’t work out for me. She proceeds to ask me “L, you’re not not wearing your hair half up because I (emphasis on the word I) wanted to wear it that way, are you?” Um, no deary that wasn’t my reasoning at all. But please enlighten me as to when the world started revolving around you, because if I didn’t want you to wear your hair half up that bad, you wouldn’t be. Because I’m the bride! No, the world doesn’t revolve around me either, but do you really think that I would alter what I want for my wedding because of you?! Get over yourself.

This girl is one selfish sentence away from being bumped down to guestbook attendant, and I mean it. Between her and the maid that’s never involved in anything I could write a book. What NOT to do When You’re a Bridesmaid in Someone Else’s Wedding I think I’m on the verge of a New York Time’s best seller with that idea!

5 Responses to “Half Up or Up?”


  1. 1 ohthedrama August 15, 2006 at 2:11 pm

    Oh dear Jesus, If I have to crack this B in the face I surely will. I am SO sick of all this me, me, me attitude from the young ones I could puke! I really wanted to lunge across the table when she said that and smack her in the head! Who the hell does she think she is? Just because you live on a “plantation” does not mean you are Queen of Elkton. Sha-zam!

  2. 2 girlymama August 17, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    it is common knowlegde that you should bow to the bride on things like this (purple toenails? why sure, sweetie! its your day!!!)

    BUT it is also common knowledge that you should not copy the bride’s hair and that the bridesmaids hair should NOT be higher than teh brides. ie if the bride has an updo that is at teh nape of her neck, no self-respecting bridesmaid should pile her hair on top of her head. That would be stealing the bride’s thunder.

    geez. a book would be a great idea!

  3. 3 John June 17, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Ou2vVl bhsdrjkvbfjksbhfsvkbdhfkv

  4. 4 TestName June 30, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Test myfunction comment


  1. 1 i’m that bridesmaid « sunny side of life Trackback on March 14, 2008 at 6:54 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


